UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor pranavr
Visitor

how to program a FPGA from vivado which is installed on a remote server

Hi,

We have vivado installed on a server, but I would like to use it to program a bit file on a FPGA which is located localy at my desk. Is it possible and how do I do it ? I am new to this so any detailed instruction would help. Thanks.

-Pranav

0 Kudos
6 Replies

Re: how to program a FPGA from vivado which is installed on a remote server

The program you are after is called "vcse_server" and is part of the Vivado installation. You will have to install at least a minimal version of the tools on your desktop machine that has the JTAG<->USB Cable connected. 

Once you are running vcse_server on your desktop machine (it is a console program) you can point your server at it from the 'Hardware Manager' and talk to your FPGA as if it was locally connected to the server machine.

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Hi @pranavr 
Check this video tutorial for detailed help.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i8axs4hw2f4

The userguide is http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2014_1/ug908-vivado-programming-debugging.pdf

Thanks,Vijay
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Hi Pranav,

A nice tutorial: http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2014_1/ug936-vivado-tutorial-programming-debugging.pdf (page no. 57)

Thanks,

Vinay