cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
3,409 Views
Registered: ‎12-08-2017

remote hw_server can't connect

Hey, I am on windows 10, connecting with remote desktop to a machine that is running Vivado 2016.2. On my windows 10 machine, I installed the "Vivado 2017.3 Hardware Server for Windows" from here:

https://www.xilinx.com/support/download.html

 

I launch hw_server on my windows 10 computer by entering     c:\Xilinx\HWSRVR\2017.3\bin\hw_server.bat    into my command prompt. On the remote machine running vivado 2016.2, I open a new hardware target, and select connect to remote server. I enter the information for host name and port given by the hw_server running on my laptop.

I get the message:

  • [Labtools 27-2223] Unable to connect to hw_server with URL "TCP: *removed* :3121". Resolution: 1. Check the host name, port number and network connectivity. 2. Check to ensure the hw_server is running on the target.

I can't seem to fix this, any suggestions?

0 Kudos
Reply
5 Replies
Highlighted
Advisor
Advisor
3,384 Views
Registered: ‎12-03-2007

Hi @etkrawczyk , 

 

A couple of suggestions:

 

1. Try to use IP address instead of hostname. I found that using IP has better chance to work than hostname

2. I've seen that 2017.2 and 2017.3 client and server don't work well with each other. I've seen explicit message about version mismatch once. So try to have the same version of both client and server.

 

Thanks,

Evgeni

Tags (2)
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
3,274 Views
Registered: ‎10-19-2011

You have to use the same version of hw manager on both sides. 2016.2 > 2016.2 or 2017.3 > 2017.3. Also the releases with a in between (like 2017.3.1) need to match also. For example 2017.3.1 will not connect to a 2017.3 build. Let us know if that resolves your issue. Also check firewalls/antiviruses that could be clocking this port. You need to be on the same network aswell.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
2,774 Views
Registered: ‎05-31-2018

 i have the same problem, how to check the version of hw manager

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
2,571 Views
Registered: ‎11-17-2016

Using IP address instead of host name solved the issue for me 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
604 Views
Registered: ‎03-21-2010

I use IP address can't solve this problem. I had to turn off windows 10's firewall. Could someone tell me how to solve this problem without turning off windows's firewall?

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply