UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Newbie - Timing question

Dear All,

I am just getting into the realm of FPGA design and have done much reading in the recent weeks. I am fairly confident I can answer my own question but I just wanted to confirm.

Scenario:

1. I have an incoming 24MHz clock

2. I translate this to an internal signal via an IBUFG

3. I immediately use a DCM to phase synchronize and PLL this 24MHz up to 300MHz signal

4. I BUFG this 300MHz signal to fan out to my logic

My question is:

In my .UCF timing constraints for clocking, I have ONLY specified the constraint on the 300MHz signal and am assuming that it will ripple up stream through the DCM/PLL and to the pin. Could somebody please confirm that my attempt at simplifying the timing description is valid (as my interpretation of the timing constraints documentation is that yes it is valid to do this on just the one CLK).

Cheers,

James

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Teacher hgleamon1
Teacher

Re: Newbie - Timing question

No, you have it the wrong way around. In your UCF you should only need to constrain the INPUT clock, 24MHz. The tools are smart enough to ripple the constraint through the clock management and into the logic, not from the logic back to the pin.

Incidentally, depending on how your 24MHz clock is routed (i.e. does it go to other logic as well as the DCM?), you may need to add a BUFG after the IBUFG (yes, confusing names). If it ONLY routes from the IBUFG to the DCM, you probably won't need it.

Regards,

Howard

----------
"That which we must learn to do, we learn by doing." - Aristotle
0 Kudos
Scholar austin
Scholar

James,