cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer
Observer

Timing constraint impossible to meet issue ...

Hi

I was implementing a design on Virtex5 FPGA and in the implementation/map stage, I ran into this error - 

Pack:1653 - At least one timing constraint is impossible to meet because
component delays alone exceed the constraint. A timing constraint summary
below shows the failing constraints (preceded with an Asterisk (*)). Please
use the Timing Analyzer (GUI) or TRCE (command line) with the Mapped NCD and
PCF files to identify which constraints and paths are failing because of the
component delays alone. If the failing path(s) is mapped to Xilinx components
as expected, consider relaxing the constraint. If it is not mapped to
components as expected, re-evaluate your HDL and how synthesis is optimizing
the path. To allow the tools to bypass this error, set the environment
variable XIL_TIMING_ALLOW_IMPOSSIBLE to 1.

I am new to such timing issues so my questions are - 

1) If I do use the env variable mentioned above and am able to bypass the error, is that recommended or can I run into more issues?

2) The map report says that signals of a particular fifo that I have are giving this problem. How can I trace the exact cause of this issue?  

3) I was slowly adding modules into my design, and after adding some new modules, this error showed up ... so what would this indicate?

4) What would be a good fix for such an issue, and the approach?

I've also attached the timing report. Any light on this issue will be of great help to me ...

Thanks and regards,

Zubin Kumar.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Professor
Professor

You will not fix the problem by setting the environment variable, however you will allow Map

to complete so you can get a complete timing report that shows the failing paths.  Without

that there is no way to debug the issue.

It is possible that you have too many levels of logic for your required clock period, or you