UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Voyager
Voyager

Using Clock Signals to Drive CE Pins of FF's and Enable lines of FIFO'S

Jump to solution

Hey every one,

Quick technical question :

I have been reading a bit about synchronous design practices and trying to implement those ideas in my design. I wanted to know if its a good design practice to drive the CE pin of the flip flops using clock signals ?

The situation is as follows : I have a master clock from the MMCM that runs throght the device via a BUFG. My final aim is to make every design module synchronous to this clock. I need to drive some of the read and write enable lines of FIFO's and general logic FF's at a dynamic divided frequency when compared to the master clock. My idea was to implement a dynamic divider circuit that generates my divided clock and then route them to my logic via a BUFG so that they get the least possible skew.

My question is : Can I use the clock signal coming from a BUFG to drive CE pins of FF's and Enable lines of FIFOS's ? This way everything is synchronous to my master clock.

I am using ISE 14.7 and working on a design targetting Zynq 7020 .

Cheers

Arvind

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Historian
Historian

Re: Using Clock Signals to Drive CE Pins of FF's and Enable lines of FIFO'S

Jump to solution

@arvindnr wrote:

Hey every one,

I have been reading a bit about synchronous design practices and trying to implement those ideas in my design. I wanted to know if its a good design practice to drive the CE pin of the flip flops using clock signals ?