UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor shiverspell
Visitor

AXI interface configuration

Hi everyone,

I hope you can help me with my issue. I am very new to FPGA programming so please bare with me.

Currently I am trying to synthesize a design where I have an input array (1536 int) and an output array (512 int). I am trying to create an application where the input array is transferred to the PL by the PS and the output is read back by the PS afterwards.
Therefore I tried to use the AXI interface, in slave mode for the input array with the following directives:
set_directive_resource -core RAM_1P_BRAM -metadata {-bus_bundle CHUNKS} "conway" chunks
set_directive_interface -mode ap_memory -depth 1536 "conway" chunks

and the output array as AXI master with as follows:
set_directive_interface -mode m_axi -depth 512 -bundle NEW_CHUNK "conway" new_chunk

However, this does not synthesize to what I expected. When using a combination of AXI slave and master as shown above, the output array just gets removed. During export I get a bunch of warnings that the output port is not connected and will therefore be removed:
WARNING: [Synth 8-3332] Sequential element (conway_NEW_CHUNK_m_axi_U/bus_read/rs_rreq/data_p2_reg[0]) is unused and will be removed from module conway.

This leads to the following question for me: Did I pick the interfaces correct and if so, how do I need to specify them correctly so I can use the IP properly?

I am pretty confused on what is happening behind the scenes and would be very glad for any hints in the correct direction!

Here are some technical details about the Hardware and Vivado Version I am using: