cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Any good ways to reduce the LUT utilization?

Hi,

I have a Boosting Decision Tree algorithm on HLS, and it passes simulation and synthesis. The only problem is that it is using too many LUTs. I tried to reduce the number of trees by 20%-40% and changed the fixed-point precision from <18,8>to<15,5>. They improved the number of BRAMs and FFs, but only had a 1%-2% improvement on the number of LUTs.

I am new to the FPGA and HLS development, I think I need some help on what pragma I need to add to the C++ code to use more FFs and RAMs, and less LUTs. The project code is attached.

Thanks a lot,
xjc

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Highlighted

Hello xjcwd1101,

I looked at your design, and I think the source of the very large LUT resource utilization comes from the array partition directives. I think you are following the right method of unrolling the loops, then partitioning the arrays in order to provide and consume the data from those parallel operations that result from that. All of the array partitions I saw were complete. I like to make a baseline performance solution where I remove all but the interface directives. When I did that, and compared it to your results, I see the following performance and resource impact:

Latency:
			        Baseline	Partition
Latency (cycles)	min	58024		146
nterval (cycles)	min	58024		120

Utilization Estimates:

Baseline	Partition
BRAM_18K	        213		1202
DSP48E		        0		0
FF			69138		383660
LUT			29138		275317
URAM		        0		0