UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor musayed46
Visitor

C/RTL cosimulation error

Hello,

I am new to Vivado HLS and trying to work the simple example of an fir filter as given in the Xilinx tutorial (pg 13): https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2014_2/ug871-vivado-high-level-synthesis-tutorial.pdf. I am working on Ubuntu 18.10

The C Synthesis and C simulation work fine but cosimluation using Vivado HLS simulator( pg 23 of above pdf) gives the attached error.

Following is what I have tried so far:

- I cannot modify floatn.h as that is read only

- I played around with the CFLAGS options (In projects> project settings> simulation> fir_test.c I tried using -std=c++11/14 in accordance to the following StackOverflow post:https://stackoverflow.com/questions/13525774/clang-and-float128-bug-error)

It does not seem to identify the C FILE * pointer and shows that as a bug in the code. Interestingly, when I tried RTL cosimulation with a cpp file, that worked just fine. My hunch is that it complains because I'm working with c files? I have no idea why that would be the case. Any guidance would be helpful.

error(1).jpg
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Re: C/RTL cosimulation error

Hey @musayed46,

Your hunch about the issue being the difference between c and cpp files could certainly be correct. Many libraries are meant only for one language or the other, e.g., "ap_cint.h" for C and "ap_int.h" for CPP. And one of your warnings complains about float vs. cfloat.