UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

How to keep track of time ?

Jump to solution

I am new to HLS and I am using it in my Bacheor project where now I need to keep track of time while the code is executing so how can I do so ?

Further explanation : My target is to implement odometry of a robotic vehicle on HLS then export it to have an IP on vivado so I can use it with other IPs to burn them on the PL of the PYNQ-z1 board , therfore I have a variable in all my equations which is (dt) , so I need to know how can I do this to work with the zynq processor ?

I know that ctime.h and time.h C++ libraries can't be synthesized so what can I do ?

Mohamed Taher
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Scholar u4223374
Scholar

Re: How to keep track of time ?

Jump to solution

mohamed.ellaithy@student.guc.edu.eg  I already answered this in your other thread...

The short answer is that HLS has no way to do this internally. HLS is "emulating" a single-threaded C program; single-threaded implies that there can't be a separate task running a timer. You can do it with an external timer, but that won't be synthesizable.

5 Replies
Teacher xilinxacct
Teacher

Jump to solution

mohamed.ellaithy@student.guc.edu.eg 

It depends on the granularity of time you need. The 'host' side if the testbench does not need to be fully synthesizeable, so it you want capture the execution time of the call, you are fine. In fact, the cosimulation will get you clock level estimations. Alternatively, the performance estimates will give you the basic timing bounds.

Hope that Helps
If so, Please mark as solution accepted. Kudos also welcomed. :-)

0 Kudos

Jump to solution