Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rappysaha
Adventurer
Adventurer

Need suggestion to decide the language for HLS

Jump to solution

Hello everyone,

I am new in case of HLS. I am trying to build an simple IP for video processing. Actually, Xilinx provide many IPs for image processing algorithm but I want to make my own IP with my algorithm. But, I can not decide which language should I use C/C++/SystemC.

At first, I have started with C but all of a sudden I noticed a fact about C. When I am building an IP with C, I can not use multiple clocks. From Xilinx user guide and forum, I came to know that I need to use SystemC for that purpose. So, I am trying to learn about systemC now and obviously I am at beginner's level of systemC.

My goal: make a simple IP for video processing where I need AXI interface and multiple clocks.

Actually, I need some suggestion, to reach my goal, is systemC is a good approach? Or I should follow another way?

If I can decide the language, it will be helpful to learn the other steps.

Anyway, any suggestion will be very helpful.

Thank you

Rappy Saha

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
u4223374
Advisor
Advisor

If that's the only situation where you need multiple clocks (ie separate clock for AXI-Lite control bus and the main data input/output bus) then HLS can do that even in C++. Check UG902 (v2016.4) on page 115 for details.

View solution in original post

4 Replies
u4223374
Advisor
Advisor

Well, if you want to use HLS and multiple clocks, that makes your choice really easy: SystemC is the only language that will meet your needs.

If you just want multiple clocks, then depending on the project you may find that Verilog or VHDL is a better solution. Both will give you much more control over what gets built. The downside is that you have to exercise much more control over what gets built.

muzaffer
Teacher
Teacher