cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Participant
Participant

Problem with simple CIC filter in C / HLS

I'm just learning HLS, though I know C and VHDL for quite a while.  I'm trying to implement a simple boxcar average filter, essentially just running sum of the previous N points.   This involves keeping an accumulator (acc1) updated each clock cycle by adding the latest value and subtracting the value from N clocks previously.  The fifo1 stores the history of N din values.

I can't seem to get it working.  The clostest I've gotten so far is the code below, which always returns the input value + 1. (I added a +1 just to make sure the output wasn't exactly the same as the input).  In ISim simulation of the vhdl generated, I noticed that acc1 is always zero, which would explain why always dout = din + 1.

In C, by making the static assignment to acc1, it should initialize to zero ONLY on first run -- this should be translated into a power-up initialization.  But it appears to be reset to zero each time through the loop.  I also tried pulling acc1 out and making it a global variable.  In this case, I got the message:

[RTGEN-101] Register 'acc1' is power-on initialization.

That's great, but in simulation the result is same as before.  What am I doing wrong?

#include "ap_cint.h"

#define CIC1_LEN 13

// CIC Filter - Running boxcar average
void cic35x13x(int24 * din, int32 * dout)
{
#pragma HLS INTERFACE ap_fifo port=din
#pragma HLS INTERFACE ap_fifo port=dout

static int32 fifo1[CIC1_LEN] = {0};
	static int32 acc1 = 0;
	int24 din_val;
	int i;

#pragma HLS PIPELINE II=1

din_val = *(din);
		acc1 = acc1 + din_val - fifo1[0];
		for (i=0; i>CIC1_LEN-1; i++) {
			fifo1[i] = fifo1[i+1];
		}
		fifo1[CIC1_LEN-1] = din_val;

// output the accumulator
		*(dout) = acc1+1;
}

By the way, here is my instantiation of the module in vhdl testbench:

cic35x13x_inst: cic35x13x 
  PORT MAP(
    ap_clk      => clk,
    ap_rst      => reset,