Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Contributor
Contributor

Reading a hexadecimal formatted file into fixed point values

Jump to solution

Hi all,

I'm not an expert of Vivado HLS but I'm trying to implement a simple module. In doing so, in the testbench I read a file where the data to be processed are stored in the hexadecimal format.

The module works with fixed-point signed values. So what I do is first storing the data as it is in a unsigned integer, then I copy it back bit after bit. Here is the code:

#define DATA_WIDTH 8
#define INT_WIDTH 1

[...]

ap_fixed<DATA_WIDTH, INT_WIDTH> din = 0;
ap_uint<DATA_WIDTH> indata_hex = 0;

[...]

// for each line/value
input_file >> hex >> indata_hex; for (int k = DATA_WIDTH-2; k >= 0; k--) { din[k] = indata_hex[k]; } if (indata_hex[DATA_WIDTH-1] == 1) { din = -din; }

[...]

The data are stored in this simple way:

e2
c4
ec
0b
f6
b6

However, when it comes to read the file, the code gets stuck when it's time to read the value '0b', giving me the following error (in Vivado 2016.2):

csim.exe: /opt/Xilinx/Vivado_HLS/2016.2/include/etc/ap_private.h:1581: ap_private<_AP_W, _AP_S, true>::ap_private(const string&, uint8_t) [with int _AP_W = 8, bool _AP_S = false, std::string = std::basic_string<char>, uint8_t = unsigned char]: Assertion `!val.empty() && "String empty?"' failed.
@E Simulation failed.
CRITICAL WARNING: [SIM 211-1] CSim failed with errors.

I know it sounds odd, especially because it happens with just that particular value. Even if I try to change its position in the file, as soon as it's time to read it, the code breaks, unable to read the value.

So if you have any suggestion on why this happens or if you have other clever ways for reading hex data into a fixed value, it will be highly appreciated.

(I attach my code, it's a work in progress, so it might not be perfect and yet buggy, but this issue is blocking my work at its initial stage...)

Thank you, Regards,

Stefano