Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
luhb
Visitor
Visitor

Starting Command Line Prompt on Linux OS

Jump to solution

Hi Community,

I am new to Vivado HLS. I've started with a Xilinx Tutorial for Vivado_HLS 2017.4. I've got only 2018.3, installed on CentOS. In the this Lab 2, I build a library with gcc. The tutorial was written for Windows users, and I have no clue how to open the command line prompt on Linux. I found the interactive mode, the GUI mode and the batch mode. But none of these modes looks like the command line tool they use in the tutorial, "make" is also not available. I also had a look into the bin directory of my install folder, but I have no idea how to find or launch this tool. Make in the regular shell fails at building the project, since it lacks some files for doing this.

Thank you for your help!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
luhb
Visitor
Visitor

Ok, thanks to pavan_619@ Pavan I was able to solve my dumb mistake.

The system's gcc is perfectly ok to use for this. Windows users have this command line prompt tool because they lack the console. Pre-compiled sources located in the lab_2 folder prevent make from doing its job. Just execute make clean (or delete the object files, *.o) and run make again. That's all.

View solution in original post

5 Replies
pavan_619@
Adventurer
Adventurer

Hello @luhb 
I am not sure about your question. I guess your not able to open vivado_hls in CentOS.
If it is not related please ignore

Check your installation directory of Vivado 2018.3 in Centos.
Vivado can be directly opened after this command 

Do this procedure.(open terminal)

Command 1: source  <installed path in your os>/Vivado/2018.3/settings64.sh

Command 2 : vivado => This will open vivado for you if it properly installed.

Now comes your part.
Vivado 2018.3 HLS has tcl script in the folder Vivado/2018.3/bin/scripts and it cannot be run like your shell script

After running above two commands you can directly use