UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor agb3
Visitor

"Best" way to create 72-bit bus interface

Jump to solution

I would like to create an IP block in HLS which supplies a 72-bit-wide bus  to control another IP block. I need the ability to write to arbitrary bits on this bus. (For instance, set bit/wire 30 or set bits/wires 0-22 to an appropriately-masked integer.) Unfortunately, I'm new to HLS and am not sure how to do this in a clean/canonical manner.

72bit.png

(Picture of the 72-bit bus in question)

My initial approach was to declare a packed struct with bit-fields, and then write to members of the struct as necessary, like so:

struct ctrl_tdata {
	uint32_t btt    : 23;
	bool     type   : 1;
	uint8_t  dsa    : 6;
	bool     eof    : 1;
	bool     drr    : 1;
	uint32_t saddr  : 32;
	uint8_t  tag    : 4;
	uint8_t RESERVED: 4;
	uint8_t  xuser  : 4;
	uint8_t  xcache : 4;
} __attribute__((packed));

Pointers to that struct are arguments to my top level function (I need two of these control busses):

void ddr_diver(volatile char *axi_w,  volatile char *axi_r,
               ctrl_tdata *s2mm_ctrl, ctrl_tdata *mm2s_ctrl,
               bool *w_ready,         bool *r_ready) {

#pragma HLS INTERFACE ap_none port=s2mm_ctrl
	#pragma HLS INTERFACE ap_none port=mm2s_ctrl

}

Unfortunately, when attempting to modify members of the struct, and thereby specific "wires" on the bus, I get some peculiar errors. For example, this function, which I think ought to set the "address" bits of the bus (32-64)

51:  void set_address(ctrl_tdata *ctrl, uint32_t addr) {
52:  	  ctrl->saddr = addr;
53:  }

results in the error: