Did you mean: 
adel_chaker
Visitor
Visitor

writing and reading in the same array

Jump to solution

Hello,
I'm a student working on a project, and I encountered the following problem:
my goal is to store a certain number of coef in an array, to use them in a calculation function. After a few tries I realized that the maximum number of calculation functions I can parallel is 8. So I fix my code with #pragma to limit the number of parallel function calls.
But the problem I have now is that even though I have limited the number of calls to the parallel calculator function, it reads and stores all the coefficients, whereas I just want to store the coefficients needed for the 8 current calculator functions.

void top_level_function(char coef_array[TOTAL_NUMBER_OF_ARRAY])
(
//Code
//...
main_loop:...
{
#pragma HLS PIPELINE

interne_loop: for all coefs
{
partiel_loading_of_array_loop:{#pragma HLS array_partition variable=partiel_coefs complete}
#pragma HLS allocation instances=calcul limit=8 function
calcul()
}

}
)

I also tried to create a function to partially load the coefficients and do a pragma like for the calculate function but it doesn't work. It creates dependencies between the select operation and the zext operation.
in other words I would like that when I load the necessary coefs for the calculation part, I would like to reuse this same space to store the next coefs.

thank you in advance for your precious help.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
u4223374
Advisor
Advisor

Could we possibly get the complete code? It's sort of hard to see what's going on with such a small example.

There are basically two ways to achieve what you're requesting. One is to have a loop containing two functions, one preparing the buffer and the other using it:

for (int i = 0; i < 1000; i++) {
	prepare_buffer(buff_A);
	use_buffer(buff_B);
	// Swap buffers
	buff_C = buff_A;
	buff_A = buff_B;
	buff_B = buff_C;
}