Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
whiteBeard1980
Visitor
Visitor

Adding MicroBlaze to existing old RTL designs

Jump to solution

I'm a real newbie with FPGAs so please bear with me. I've been given an older working design written with Vivado 2017.2 in VHDL which requires adding a process to update to a multiboot flash memory. I've followed the advice on how to do this and understand the multiboot along with the fallback to a golden image nicely.

The next part is then how to get the new binary through the FPGA and into the flash memory which is where I need help:

My plan is to add a MicroBlaze processor into the design so that I can go back to my comfortable realm of writing it in C with the SDK but since the original design was not done using the IP Integrator I now feel lost of how to move forward. Some posts I've followed show how to create a module from the existing RTL but then I get errors complaining about internal signals "[Chipscope 16-213] The debug port 'dbg_hub/clk' has 1 unconnected channels". Here is the schematic view of the original design with the offending internal 'dbg_hub':

whiteBeard1980_0-1601384132805.png

I don't know if I'm heading down the wrong road from the start, can anyone advise me the simplest method?

My new Block Design diagram is basically just one module of the whole previous design but obviously without any access to the 'dbg_hub/clk' signal as follows:

whiteBeard1980_1-1601384281892.png

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
bhall0107
Adventurer
Adventurer

Hi @whiteBeard1980,