Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Cell locations

Jump to solution

Hello Guys;

I am new to Vivado (and to FPGA in general).

I am trying to access cell locations using the property "LOC" (something like:

set loc [get_property LOC $cell]).  The locations I am seeing are in the form "SLICE_X**, SLICE_Y**".

I seeking coordinates  expressed in real (meaningful) units (such as microns, Angstroms...etc). How can I get such coordinates?...

Your help is highly appreciated.....

--Hussein;

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Guide
Guide

From a quick look at the documentation and the tool (I have never used them), the RPM_X and RPM_Y are the RPM_GRID based coordinates of a site. These are still "logical" coordinates, but are a unified coordinate system between the different types of resources on the die - see UG903, Chapter 5, "Absolute RPM Grid-Based Coordinates" (v2017.1, p.160).

Like the SLICE_XxxYyy notation, this still isn't based on any physical measure, but it does have the advantage of placing all resources (SLICE, BRAM, DSP, etc...) on the same grid system. But again, the grid doesn't guarantee anything about "true distance on the die" - but it is probably the closest thing that you can get.

And to get the RPM_X and RPM_Y coordinates of a cell in your design you should use

set x [get_property RPM_X [get_sites -of_objects $cell]]

(assuming $cell is a cell object, gotten with a get_cells command, not simply a cell name)

Avrum

View solution in original post

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Highlighted
Guide
Guide