UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer mnanoop2014
Observer

Clocks in XDC

Jump to solution

I am new to Vivado.

I have a simple design wherein I've to initialize a 4MHz clock (main_clk) as one of the inputs to the top module.
Presently, I am using these lines in my xdc file:

set_property -dict {IOSTANDARD LVCMOS33} [get_ports main_clk]
create_clock -add -name main_clk -period 250.00 [get_ports {main_clk}];

An error pops up during bitstream generation:

[DRC UCIO-1] Unconstrained Logical Port: 1 out of 6 logical ports have no 
user assigned specific location constraint (LOC). This may cause I/O contention
or incompatibility with the board power or connectivity affecting performance,
signal integrity or in extreme cases cause damage to the device or the
components to which it is connected. To correct this violation, specify all
pin locations. This design will fail to generate a bitstream unless all logical
ports have a user specified site LOC constraint defined. To allow bitstream
creation with unspecified pin locations (not recommended), use this command:
set_property SEVERITY {Warning} [get_drc_checks UCIO-1]. NOTE: When using the
Vivado Runs infrastructure (e.g. launch_runs Tcl command), add this command to
a .tcl file and add that file as a pre-hook for write_bitstream step for the
implementation run. Problem ports: main_clk.

If I don't specify the IOSTANDARD, even then an error pops up asking me to declare the IOSTANDARD.

I do not intend to use any external clock supply. I understand there is a clock generator from which we can derive smaller frequency clocks. Any references I can use to resolve this issue?