UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor lukes
Visitor

Newbie question, implementation problems

Hi,
I am very new to logic design so bare with me if I am missing something obvious or doing something stupid, any help would be much appreciated.

I have started a simple schematic design in ISE 12.1 (I know schematic designs are not a good way to design logic but I will rewrite the design in VHDL as I learn the language).  The design is working in simulation but from what I can tell it does not work post-fit simulation.  There are far too many signals in the post-fit simulation to get a good handle on what is going on.

I have a Digilent XC2XL and CoolRunner-II starter kit, and am starting with trying to implement the design on a XC9500XL device.  Here are the questions I have \ problems I am running into.

1)  I have tied a net to VCC in the schematic and when I implement the design I get the following warning. "WARNING:Cpld:828 - Signal 'Status0Out<0>.RSTF' has been minimized to 'GND'."  Why is minimizing the signal to ground when it is tied to VCC?  Attached is a picture of the part of my design this warning applies too and inside the "StatusReg" component.

2) I trigger many of the latches and other components in the design on edges of inputs signals that are not synchronous clocks.  The compiler is yelling at me for not assigning timing constraints to these trigger signals.

WARNING:Cpld:310 - Cannot apply TIMESPEC TS1002 = PERIOD:PERIOD_RD_N:0.000 nS
   because of one of the following: (a) a signal name was not found; (b) a
   signal was removed or renamed due to optimization; (c) there is no path