UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor andreastepe
Visitor
11,923 Views
Registered: ‎02-24-2014

Vivado Select Hardware Target

Jump to solution

Hello!

 

I'm sure, the information I'm looking for is somewhere hidden here but after seraching for it the whole day (yepp...), I'm giving up now and hope you can point me towards it.

 

I have the newest Vivado suite installed. It doesn't tell me which option, but I added a licence key for the option two steps above the WEBPack version.

 

The board I'm working with is HW-Z7-ZC702 Rev. 1.1

 

This is my problem: I have successfully generated a bitstream in Vivado and would like to implement it on the Zync FPGA on the board via the Digilent programmer interface that is implemented on the ZC702.

 

So I opened the "Open Target" option in the Hardware Manager chose Server Name localhost:50001 (because on 60001 nothing was listening) and got the window of which I attached a screenshot. This window is completely inert. I can't do anything but "Back" and "Cancel".

 

I was now trying to find out how to add something to the hardware server so that my board is recognized, but I could not find any information in this forum, in the Xilinx documents or with google.

 

I even tried the same thing on Linux but with the same non-interactive window. What am I doing wrong?

 

Thanks a lot for your help!

 

Cheers,

Andreas

 

PS.: This is the first time in my life that I try programming an FPGA. So my guess is, I simply don't know what exactly to search for.

SelectHardwareTarget.jpg
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Visitor andreastepe
Visitor
17,291 Views
Registered: ‎02-24-2014

Re: Vivado Select Hardware Target

Jump to solution

Hello again!

 

I'm successful now!

 

This is what was wrong:

The default value for SW16 should be 00000 (all switches to the left). This is enabling the standard JTAG mode. On my board every second switch was 1 (left). This is a not defined state. Setting the switches correctly makes everything run smoothly.

 

Btw.: Vivado now also works under Linux (Debian Jessie) for me! :)

 

Thanks for your help!

 

Cheers,

Andreas

8 Replies
Moderator
Moderator
11,920 Views
Registered: ‎06-05-2013

Re: Vivado Select Hardware Target

Jump to solution

I think your board is detected & you have to click on drop down list.

 Check the below snapshot:-

 

dd.JPG

 

Please try & let us know the update.

 

Regards,

Harry

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
11,910 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2010

Re: Vivado Select Hardware Target

Jump to solution
Have you referred to ZC702 HW user guide. Here are some points to consider.

The JTAG chain can be programmed by three different methods made available via a 3-to-1 analog switch (U75, U76, and U77) controlled by a 2-position DIP switch at SW10.

DIP switch SW10 setting 01 selects the 14-pin header J2 for configuration using either a Parallel Cable IV (PC4) or Platform Cable USB II.
DIP switch SW10 setting 10 selects the USB-to-JTAG Digilent bridge U23 for configuration over a Standard-A to Micro-B USB cable.

DIP switch SW10 setting 11 selects the JTAG 20-pin header at J58.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Visitor andreastepe
Visitor
11,881 Views
Registered: ‎02-24-2014

Re: Vivado Select Hardware Target

Jump to solution

Hello!

 

Thanks for your answer!

When I click onto that field, I get a little arrow up/down, but there are no devices in the list below. Nothing changes.

 

Cheers,

Andreas

0 Kudos
Visitor andreastepe
Visitor
11,876 Views
Registered: ‎02-24-2014

Re: Vivado Select Hardware Target

Jump to solution

Hello venkata,

 

I checked the switch and it was set to

 

Pos  1  2

Val on off

 

as default value. I just played around with it to make sure the high and low bit are what I thought they are, but that does not change anything.

 

So, no success so far.

 

Cheers,

Andreas

0 Kudos
Visitor andreastepe
Visitor
17,292 Views
Registered: ‎02-24-2014

Re: Vivado Select Hardware Target

Jump to solution

Hello again!

 

I'm successful now!

 

This is what was wrong:

The default value for SW16 should be 00000 (all switches to the left). This is enabling the standard JTAG mode. On my board every second switch was 1 (left). This is a not defined state. Setting the switches correctly makes everything run smoothly.

 

Btw.: Vivado now also works under Linux (Debian Jessie) for me! :)

 

Thanks for your help!

 

Cheers,

Andreas

Visitor andreastepe
Visitor
11,864 Views
Registered: ‎02-24-2014

Re: Vivado Select Hardware Target

Jump to solution

One more thing: The description for switch SW10 on the board says:

10: Plattform USB

01: Digilent

11: JTAG 20-pin

 

Looking onto SW10 from the direction in which you can read the description (description is above the power connector), the correct setting for using U23 Digilent programmer is:

     left (1)       right (2)

  down (off)    up (on)

 

I was a little confused about what the correct setting is. From my point of view, the manual describes the settings invertedly.

 

Cheers,

Andreas

Moderator
Moderator
11,858 Views
Registered: ‎06-05-2013

Re: Vivado Select Hardware Target

Jump to solution
Thanks for sharing the solution. It will be helpful for others.

Regards,
Harry
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
11,663 Views
Registered: ‎05-22-2008

Re: Vivado Select Hardware Target

Jump to solution

Thanks andreastepe.

 

I just spent way too long trying to figure this out. My problem was SW10.

 

it should be repeated, position one, on the left, needs to be down. Position 2, on the right needs to be up.

0 Kudos