cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jtanko12
Visitor
Visitor
6,333 Views
Registered: ‎10-04-2012

Batch file error on Windows 7

Jump to solution

Hello,

 

I have intalled WebPack on a laptop with Window 7, please see attachment for

my system details.

Short version of the problem is that I get a message when I try to start ISE that says:

"windows can't open this file: Settings64.bat".

What could this be? Never seen this kind of error before and I installed Xilinx

software on many machines over the years.

 

Thanks,

/Jakab

 

System.PNG
0 Kudos
Reply
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
danders
Contributor
Contributor
7,954 Views
Registered: ‎08-16-2007

You need to run this via command line.  When you run in in the command prompt it will set you environment up where you can then launch ISE.  Once you do run this .bat file you can then type set to see the enviroment variables set

 

C:\Xilinx\14.2\ISE_DS>settings64.bat

C:\Xilinx\14.2\ISE_DS>set

....

XILINX=C:\Xilinx\14.2\ISE_DS\ISE
XILINXD_LICENSE_FILE=C:\.Xilinx\
XILINX_DSP=C:\Xilinx\14.2\ISE_DS\ISE
XILINX_EDK=C:\Xilinx\14.2\ISE_DS\EDK
XILINX_PLANAHEAD=C:\Xilinx\14.2\ISE_DS\PlanAhead
XILINX_VIVADO=C:\Xilinx\Vivado\2012.2
XIL_PAR_DESIGN_CHECK_VERBOSE=1

C:\Xilinx\14.2\ISE_DS>

 

-David

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Reply
4 Replies
bwiec
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
6,323 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2011

Settings64.bat is a script that is run to setup your environment whenever you launch any of the tools.

 

It exists here:

C:\Xilinx\14.2\ISE_DS\settings64.bat

 

Is the file there? Were there any issues with the install? Maybe try running an MD5 checksum on your install package to be sure it was downloaded completely/correctly.

www.xilinx.com
0 Kudos
Reply
jtanko12
Visitor
Visitor
6,320 Views
Registered: ‎10-04-2012

Yes, the file is there and so is settings32.bat but Windows 7 gives me this

message :

batchsh.PNG
0 Kudos
Reply
danders
Contributor
Contributor
7,955 Views
Registered: ‎08-16-2007

You need to run this via command line.  When you run in in the command prompt it will set you environment up where you can then launch ISE.  Once you do run this .bat file you can then type set to see the enviroment variables set

 

C:\Xilinx\14.2\ISE_DS>settings64.bat

C:\Xilinx\14.2\ISE_DS>set

....

XILINX=C:\Xilinx\14.2\ISE_DS\ISE
XILINXD_LICENSE_FILE=C:\.Xilinx\
XILINX_DSP=C:\Xilinx\14.2\ISE_DS\ISE
XILINX_EDK=C:\Xilinx\14.2\ISE_DS\EDK
XILINX_PLANAHEAD=C:\Xilinx\14.2\ISE_DS\PlanAhead
XILINX_VIVADO=C:\Xilinx\Vivado\2012.2
XIL_PAR_DESIGN_CHECK_VERBOSE=1

C:\Xilinx\14.2\ISE_DS>

 

-David

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Reply
jtanko12
Visitor
Visitor
6,290 Views
Registered: ‎10-04-2012

Hello,

 

Thanks for the help. It worked with an extra step; after the batch file is run as you indicated

in the Windows start menu (ISE icon properties) the call to the batch file needs to be deleted

so only the .exe is called when you click it

 

/Jakab

0 Kudos
Reply