Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sezermemis
Visitor
Visitor

Cannot Select Digilent Boards

Jump to solution

Hello everyone. I am new at FPGA design. I installed Vivado but i cannot select board which i want. I guess it is license issue. But i don't know how i should install Vivado correct way. I am using WebPack Edition. I tried "install/update boards" button, adding boards manually but i cannot add. During the installation, 7 series boards are passive. I can't select. My professor says he use WebPack Edition too. But he didn't encounter same problem. Vitis, HL Design, HL System doesn't matter, which one i choose they are passive as in the following picture. What should i do? 

instaqqll.png

boardselect.png

 Thank you already!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
miker
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

@sezermemis 

Just a thought... what device family are you targeting?  Vivado 2020.3 is a release ONLY for Versal device family targets.

Have you tried uninstalling Vivado 2020.3, installing Vivado 2020.2, and using the default method for XHub Store downloads (i.e. don't copy any board files into the Vivado installation directory)?

Please Reply, Kudos, and Accept as Solution.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
11 Replies
barriet
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

I don't initially think this is a licensing issue... You don't say what board you are using or the corresponding part/device but I suspect most of them are smaller WebPACK parts that won't require a license to target... And the license doesn't control the device install options - the installer and the licensing are actually fairly decoupled.

I don't use the Digilent boards but I don't see them in my 2020.2 install either... If you check their documentation, you'll see they have you download the board files from their repo and then install it into the tools, e.g.
https://reference.digilentinc.com/vivado/installing-vivado/start