UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

Driver installation fails for ISE 13.4 on Ubuntu 11.10 and Digilent Nexys 2 board

Visitor

Driver installation fails for ISE 13.4 on Ubuntu 11.10 and Digilent Nexys 2 board

I'm new to FPGAs and just installed ISE 13.4 to try something with the Nexys 2 board.

I've installed Adept runtime and utilites for Linux 32 only to get a segmentation fault when trying to start dadutil.

After some ISE installations, getting Ubuntu's kernel source and trying to make some links, the driver installation

still fails with the following lines in the log:

--Installing windrvr6---------------------------------------------
--Checking version.
--File /lib/modules/3.0.0-15-generic/kernel/drivers/misc/windrvr6.ko does not exist.
--File LINUX.3.0.0-15-generic.i386/windrvr6.ko does not exist.
--Setting source version to 1301.
--File LINUX.3.0.0-15-generic.i386/windrvr6.ko is newer than the destination file.
USE_KBUILD = no
creating cache ./config.cache
checking for cpu architecture... i386
checking for WinDriver root directory... /opt/Xilinx/13.4/LabTools/common/bin/lin/install_script/install_drivers/linux_drivers/windriver32
checking for linux kernel source... found at /lib/modules/3.0.0-15-generic/build
checking for lib directory... ln -sf $(ROOT_DIR)/lib/$(SHARED_OBJECT).so /usr/lib/$(SHARED_OBJECT).so
checking which directories to include... -I/lib/modules/3.0.0-15-generic/source/include
checking linux kernel version... not found
make -f makefile.wd clean
make[1]: Entering directory `/opt/Xilinx/13.4/LabTools/common/bin/lin/install_script/install_drivers/linux_drivers/windriver32/windrvr'