UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor egoalter
Visitor

Eval Vivado install fails on Linux

I'm new to Xilinx - I have a developer board and like to "get started" learning a bit about FPGA programming. PIC, Atmel and similar programming I've done just fine on my software platform Fedora (Linux) - and I only pick software that has that support.  I grabbed Vivado based on a few examples I've seen online - and my first immediate surprise is not only the price but that's not an issue for now, but it's HUGE size. Almost 50GB to just install. I cannot even remember last time a huge MMPORG game took that much space.  Of course I have no idea what I need to include, but even if I remove all supported devices it's 20+GB of space.  I have a feeling XILinx is redistributing every binary of the OS - and if that's the case, it would most likely explain why things aren't working.

The installer fails. After taking forever to download and then "install" the 3rd stage never completes. It's still "installing devices" been hours since it got to this stage, and no CPU or other activity can be seen on the system.  I tried to cancel and restart, but on restart the EXISTING install isn't seen, and I'm again told I need 46GB more disk space to install to just attempt to "repair" or install over the old install.  The install log file has no errors or warnings. It just says it started the installing devices task.

I don't use Windows, so I would like to ask if there are any users of Linux out there who would know tricks or similar to get an install going, and perhaps how to not have to get 46GB of disk space to just get an IDE firmware burner.