cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
boshkey
Observer
Observer
4,402 Views
Registered: ‎04-05-2016

Install Different version of vivado on the same windows machine

Jump to solution

Dear Fellows,

        I am preparing to install two versions of vivado design suite(2016.2 and 2017.2) on the same Windows machine. Is there any known problems about such operation? For compatiblility, I don't want to upgrade the suite.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
hemangd
Moderator
Moderator
5,514 Views
Registered: ‎03-16-2017

Hi @boshkey,

 

You can install multiple versions of Vivado on your windows machine. No issue in that. 

But make sure you are using supported windows for both the versions. (Check below mentioned link for supported OS for respective Vivado versions.)

https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/54242.html

 

 

Regards,

hemangd

Regards,
hemangd

Don't forget to give kudos and mark it as accepted solution if your issue gets resolved.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
hemangd
Moderator
Moderator
5,515 Views
Registered: ‎03-16-2017

Hi @boshkey,

 

You can install multiple versions of Vivado on your windows machine. No issue in that. 

But make sure you are using supported windows for both the versions. (Check below mentioned link for supported OS for respective Vivado versions.)

https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/54242.html

 

 

Regards,

hemangd

Regards,
hemangd

Don't forget to give kudos and mark it as accepted solution if your issue gets resolved.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
thakurr
Moderator
Moderator
4,395 Views
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

@boshkey

 

There should not be any problem as long as you have sufficient memory to run the tools. Please find the below link for FPGA memory recommendation for using Vivado tool:

https://www.xilinx.com/products/design-tools/vivado/memory.html

 

Regards

Rohit

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 

Regards
Rohit
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0 Kudos
u4223374
Advisor
Advisor
4,380 Views
Registered: ‎04-26-2015

At one point I had 2015.2, 2015.4, 2016.1, 2016.2, 2016.3, 2016.4, 2017.1, and 2017.2 installed on the same machine - they don't interfere with each other at all.

 

0 Kudos
boshkey
Observer
Observer
4,372 Views
Registered: ‎04-05-2016

Thank you for your advice.

0 Kudos
boshkey
Observer
Observer
4,369 Views
Registered: ‎04-05-2016
Thank you kindly
0 Kudos
boshkey
Observer
Observer
4,369 Views
Registered: ‎04-05-2016
Thank you kindly.
0 Kudos
jbdxilinx
Visitor
Visitor
2,643 Views
Registered: ‎10-09-2007

I have recently installed Vivado 2018.2 on my Windows 10 PC. I also have 2015.4, 2016.2, and 2017.2 installed on the same PC. 

When I open a design in 2016.2 that was created using 2016.2 and try to load that design into a Zynq-7000 using 2016.2 and a USB Platform II cable, neither SDK nor Vivado can detect the cable. 

The cable works fine with 2018.2 with a design created in 2018.2. I've tried multiple cables and boards, no luck. Anyone else have a similar problem?

0 Kudos