UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer Anviori
Observer
6,299 Views
Registered: ‎09-27-2017

Not able to start viviado - 'vivado.bat timeout'

Jump to solution

Can't start the program. It was working yesterday and now it's not. asdf.png

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Moderator
Moderator
9,459 Views
Registered: ‎04-24-2013

Re: Not able to start viviado - 'vivado.bat timeout'

Jump to solution

Hi @Anviori,

 

There is a known issue with VIvado 2017.3 and the Windows 10 Creators Update from Microsoft which may be case here.

 

This is documented in Answer Record 69908

https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/69908.html

 

While this update for Windows 10 is not officially supported with Vivado 2017.3, the following work-around is available:

  1. Navigate to (Vivado Installed Directory)\2017.3\bin\unwrapped\win64.o
  2. Backup 'vivado.exe' by renaming it to 'vivado.exe.backup'
  3. Copy 'vivado-vg.exe' and paste it into the same folder.
  4. Rename 'vivado-vg - Copy.exe' to 'vivado.exe'

Let me know if this helps.

 

Best Regards
Aidan

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if this answered your question
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and may help other users
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

13 Replies
Moderator
Moderator
6,273 Views
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Re: Not able to start viviado - 'vivado.bat timeout'

Jump to solution

Hi @Anviori,

 

Can you open command prompt and then run vivado.bat? The Vivado.bat file should be in a similar path as: C:/Xilinx/Vivado/201x.x/bin/vivado.bat

 

Which OS are you using? Please check AR#57386 for debug.

 

--------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the appropriate answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.
Give 'Kudos' to a post which you think is useful and reply oriented.
--------------------------------------------------------------

0 Kudos
Observer Anviori
Observer
6,258 Views
Registered: ‎09-27-2017

Re: Not able to start viviado - 'vivado.bat timeout'

Jump to solution

I tried running vivado.bat from the command prompt and it does not work. 

I am using Windows 10; and I have already tried debugging from the link you provided, but it still keeps timing out. 

 

I am using Vivado 2017.3

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
9,460 Views
Registered: ‎04-24-2013

Re: Not able to start viviado - 'vivado.bat timeout'

Jump to solution

Hi @Anviori,

 

There is a known issue with VIvado 2017.3 and the Windows 10 Creators Update from Microsoft which may be case here.

 

This is documented in Answer Record 69908

https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/69908.html

 

While this update for Windows 10 is not officially supported with Vivado 2017.3, the following work-around is available:

  1. Navigate to (Vivado Installed Directory)\2017.3\bin\unwrapped\win64.o
  2. Backup 'vivado.exe' by renaming it to 'vivado.exe.backup'
  3. Copy 'vivado-vg.exe' and paste it into the same folder.
  4. Rename 'vivado-vg - Copy.exe' to 'vivado.exe'

Let me know if this helps.

 

Best Regards
Aidan

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if this answered your question
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and may help other users
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

Observer Anviori
Observer
6,214 Views
Registered: ‎09-27-2017

Re: Not able to start viviado - 'vivado.bat timeout'

Jump to solution

It worked, thank you so much for your help!

0 Kudos
Newbie shaun.lee56
Newbie
5,689 Views
Registered: ‎12-06-2017

Re: Not able to start viviado - 'vivado.bat timeout'

Jump to solution

Hi

 

I tried to make the changes to the file names but the same problem still exits.

 

Any other possible solutions?

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
5,680 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Not able to start viviado - 'vivado.bat timeout'

Jump to solution

Hello @shaun.lee56,

 

Just to double check with you, on this Windows 10 machine where you see this issue, do you have Vivado_init.tcl specified in either the software installation, i.e.: <installdir>/Vivado/version/scripts/Vivado_init.tcl (Where <installdir> is the installation directory where the Vivado Design Suite is installed), or in the local user directory, i.e.: %APPDATA%/Xilinx/Vivado/<VivadoVersion>/Vivado_init.tcl? 

 

Can you confirm on this please? Thanks

 

Kind Regards,

Anatoli

 

 

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Newbie shaun.lee56
Newbie
5,675 Views
Registered: ‎12-06-2017

Re: Not able to start viviado - 'vivado.bat timeout'

Jump to solution

Hi Anatoli

 

Thanks for the prompt reply. It just worked suddenly. Thanks again!

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
5,671 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Not able to start viviado - 'vivado.bat timeout'

Jump to solution

Thanks for letting us know @shaun.lee56. Perhaps the changes that you've applied somehow didn't get detected for some reason? Anyhow, I'm glad to hear your issue is sorted now.

 

Have a lovely evening.

 

Kind Regards,

Anatoli

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Newbie namnesh
Newbie
5,176 Views
Registered: ‎12-21-2017

Re: Not able to start viviado - 'vivado.bat timeout'

Jump to solution

Hello sir ! 

I have been facing the same problem. i have worked on the changing the name and extension of vivado.exe to vivado.exe.backup but now facing launcher time out. and viavdo_init folder/file is not there in the design Suit directory

Vivado version 2017.1

Windows 10 latest update

 

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
3,166 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Not able to start viviado - 'vivado.bat timeout'

Jump to solution

Hello @namnesh,

 

Can you please confirm that after you've backup-ed  'vivado.exe' by renaming it to 'vivado.exe.backup' (i.e. step #2 below), you've then performed steps #3 and 4 as given below? This is necessary to be applied as indicated below, as otherwise you'd normally see a "Launcher time out issue". Can you confirm on this please? Thanks

 

  1. Navigate to (Vivado Installed Directory)\2017.3\bin\unwrapped\win64.o
  2. Backup 'vivado.exe' by renaming it to 'vivado.exe.backup'
  3. Copy 'vivado-vg.exe' and paste it into the same folder.
  4. Rename 'vivado-vg - Copy.exe' to 'vivado.exe'

Kind Regards,

Anatoli

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Newbie namnesh
Newbie
3,158 Views
Registered: ‎12-21-2017

Re: Not able to start viviado - 'vivado.bat timeout'

Jump to solution

hello sir!

I have performed all the steps listed . Still it shows the same error , yet  if i try to launch the new vivado.exe from the main folder 

error displayed is 

vivadoerror.png
0 Kudos
Newbie nambi
Newbie
2,987 Views
Registered: ‎02-18-2018

Re: Not able to start viviado - 'vivado.bat timeout'

Jump to solution

Thank you! it's help me,

now it works!!!

0 Kudos
2,711 Views
Registered: ‎08-30-2017

Re: Not able to start viviado - 'vivado.bat timeout'

Jump to solution

Thanks Aidan, It works for me. After the exe file rename we need to restart the system .

 

0 Kudos