UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Explorer
Explorer
2,448 Views
Registered: ‎12-18-2014

Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hi,

we purchased a nodelocked license with version limit 2018.01

Expiration date is permanent.

I installed vivado 2017.3 but synthesis failed because no valid license was found.

In AR 33770 it says:

"The license will enable any version of the design tools released during or before the month specified by the Version Limit"

 

So i should be able to use vivado 2017.3 with current license. What is the problem?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Moderator
Moderator
3,735 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Just to post the finding to this problem, in case someone else will encounter the same issue.

 

If your flexnet dongle is an older HASP4 dongle and not a newer HASP HL dongle, then Vivado 2017.3 won't be able to detect this dongle and to check out the license file. Please note that the HASP4 dongle should work fine with any previous versions of Vivado upto and including Vivado 2017.2, but not with Vivado 2017.3 and the newer releases.

The recommendation here is to replace HASP4 dongles with newer HASP HL dongles.

To verify if your dongle is a HASP4 dongle or a newer HASP HL dongle, please open your Device Manager -> USB Controller, and in here check and see if you have e.g. "Sentinel HASP Key", "Sentinel HL Key" and "Sentinel USB Key". If that is the case, then your dongle is a HASP HL dongle, however if in your case "Sentinel HL Key" is missing, that is an indication that you are most likely using an older version of a dongle, which is a HASP4 dongle and it won't work with Vivado 2017.3.

 

Therefore, in case  you are using a HASP4 dongle, and if you are working with Vivado 2017.3, then the option you have in this situation is either order a new HASP HL dongle so that you can use this with the newer tools, or just re-generate your license to target your NIC ID (Network Interface Card ID) or a DISK_SERIAL_NUM instead of your dongle’s ID.

 

Hope this helps.

 

Regards,

Anatoli

 

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
29 Replies
Moderator
Moderator
2,440 Views
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

@sevenclock

 

Yes, you should be able to use 2017.3 with version limit of 2018.1. Have you generated the license for the correct host id?

Can you share the license and the Xinfo file? Xinfo can be generated by running the below command in the tcl console.

report_environment -file <file_path>env.txt.

 

Also share the screen shot of the VLM (Vivado license manager) Go to Help-->Manage license in the Vivado IDE for this.

 

Regards

Rohit

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Regards
Rohit
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
2,431 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hello @sevenclock,

 

Please open Vivado License Manager (VLM) and under "Manage License Search Paths", point your XILINXD_LICENSE_FILE to the location where you have saved your Node-Locked license in.

Then, in VLM, under "View License Status", check and see if your license being listed in the table? If so, do you see "Host ID Matches" shows YES for this license or NO? Can you confirm on this please?

 

Thanks,

Anatoli

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
2,419 Views
Registered: ‎12-18-2014

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

@thakurr

 

Hi Rohit,

find attached a part of the report_environment file

 

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
2,415 Views
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hi @sevenclock

 

The half env.txt file you shared says host id of your machine and host id for which license was generated doesnot match. Host Id Matches column says no.

host_id_no.PNG

Hence please generate the license for the host id of your machine. You can follow the steps mentioned in this link to rehost the license:

https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/36136.html

 

Regards

Rohit

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Regards
Rohit
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
2,399 Views
Registered: ‎12-18-2014

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hi @thakurr

 

I run the aforementioned tcl command in vivado 2017.1 on my machine and the host id matches "yes"...

 

 

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
2,393 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hello @sevenclock,

 

Is your Flexnet Dongle is detected correctly on this machine? Is the Red light ON?

Can you please open a command prompt and CD to the location such as: C:\Xilinx\Vivado\2017.3\bin\unwrapped\win64.o and from here please run this command: lmutil lmhostid -flexid

Do you get your Flex ID populated here? Or do you see "" instead (so no value populated)?

 

Regards,

Anatoli

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
2,391 Views
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hi @sevenclock

 

This is an issue with host id as i pointed out before. I am not sure why same license show host id yes in 2017.1. Can you share the complete Xinfo file  and the license file?

Between i would still suggest you to generate the license for correct host id to get rid of the issue.

 

Regards

Rohit

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Regards
Rohit
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
2,388 Views
Registered: ‎12-18-2014

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hi @anatoli

 

The Flex ID is not populated! -> ""

 

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
2,378 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hi again @sevenclock,

 

Can you please confirm if you are intended generated this license to target a dongle's HOST ID, and if so, do you have a valid dongle? If so, if you plug in the dongle into your PC, do you see a Red light on this dongle? That would indicate if the dongle's drivers were installed correctly or not.

Can you confirm on this please?

 

Regards,

Anatoli

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
2,225 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hello @sevenclock,

 

I know where there issue is coming from. As you are working with Vivado 2017.3, you'd need to follow the steps in the below AR to get your dongle detected correctly. Please follow these steps and you'd then be able to overcome this issue.

 

https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/47132.html

 

After following these steps, make sure you've copied both haspsrm_win64.dll together with haspsrm_win32.dll files to %windir%/System32 (e.g. C:\Windows\System32) and also to the %windir%/SysWOW64 locations (e.g. C:\Windows\SysWOW64)? Please note that both libraries (_win64.dll and win32.dll) need to be copied into these 2 locations.

 

Regards,

Anatoli

 

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
2,210 Views
Registered: ‎12-18-2014

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hi @anatoli

 

the solution does not work for me.

Host Id Matches -> "No"

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
2,208 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hello @sevenclock,

 

Is the dongle still not detected (i.e. no red light is on when you plug in the dongle into the PC)?

 

Have you actually copied both haspsrm_win64.dll together with haspsrm_win32.dll files to %windir%/System32 (e.g. C:\Windows\System32) and also to the %windir%/SysWOW64 locations (e.g. C:\Windows\SysWOW64)?

 

Can you confirm on this please? Thanks

 

-Anatoli

 

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Forum_3.png
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
2,206 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

@sevenclock, also if the dongle is inserted into the machine and the red light on the dongle is ON, if you run this command: lmutil lmhostid -flexid, do you still see your Flex ID populated as "" instead of an actual number of the dongle?

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
2,197 Views
Registered: ‎12-18-2014

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hi @anatoli

I forgot to mention that the dongle is on a remote dongleserver(remote pc).

 

 

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
2,192 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution
Hi @sevenclock
In this case please regenerate your license targetting your nic id of the machine where you're trying to work with Vivado 2017.3, instead of using the dongles hostid, as the dongles hostid isn't detectable on your machine and that's causing the licensing issue.
Regards,
Anatoli
Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
2,181 Views
Registered: ‎12-18-2014

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hi @anatoli,

I plugged the flexid usb device directly on my machine and run the "lmutil -flexid" and the flex id is populated with a value.

But vivado can not find a license.

 

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
2,178 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hello @sevenclock,

 

Can you please share a copy of your XINFO report (generated on the machine where you are seeing this licensing error), for examination?
​Xinfo.txt can be generated by running the "report_environment –file xinfo.txt" command in Vivado TCL console.

 

Regards,

Anatoli

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
2,163 Views
Registered: ‎12-18-2014

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hi @anatoli

plugged flexid usb device directly on my machine running vivado 2017.1  report_environment –file xinfo.txt -> host id matches

plugged flexid usb device directly on my machine running vivado 2017.3  report_environment –file xinfo.txt -> host id does not match

 

regards

 

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
2,156 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hello @sevenclock,

 

As explained already, for Vivado 2017.3, you'd need to follow the steps in the below AR to get your dongle detected correctly. Please follow these steps and you'd then be able to overcome this issue.

 

https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/47132.html

 

After following these steps, make sure you've copied both haspsrm_win64.dll together with haspsrm_win32.dll files to %windir%/System32 (e.g. C:\Windows\System32) and also to the %windir%/SysWOW64 locations (e.g. C:\Windows\SysWOW64)? Please note that both libraries (_win64.dll and win32.dll) need to be copied into these 2 locations.

 

Regards,

Anatoli

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Forum_3.png
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
2,334 Views
Registered: ‎12-18-2014

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hi @anatoli

I already did this the first time you told me but with no success

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
2,328 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hello @sevenclock,

 

Can you please share a screenshot similar to my screenshot in the previous post, where it can be seen the files were copied correctly into these 2 locations?

 

Also, is dongle's Red light ON when you plug in it to the PC?

Even if Xinfo shows NO, running lmutil lmhostid -flexid from C:\Xilinx\Vivado\2017.3\bin\unwrapped\win64.o, do you get your Flex ID populated here? Or do you still see "" instead (so no value populated)?

If no value populated, that means your dongle can't be detected.

 

-Anatoli

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
2,324 Views
Registered: ‎12-18-2014

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hi @anatoli

red light is ON!

running  lmutil lmhostid -flexid from C:\Xilinx\Vivado\2017.3\bin\unwrapped\win64.o => value populated "FLEXID=9-01638ea5"

 

 

 

system32.JPG
sysWOW64.JPG
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
2,321 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hello @sevenclock,

 

If running  lmutil lmhostid -flexid from C:\Xilinx\Vivado\2017.3\bin\unwrapped\win64.o => value populated "FLEXID=9-01638ea5", then the solution provided was applied correctly. Thanks for confirming this.

Even if you see Host ID NO in VLM and Xinfo, this is a visual issue, so please ignore this. However as lmutil lmhostid -flexid returns a valid Dongle's ID, that means Vivado 2017.3 should detect this too and the license should work fine in 2017.3.

Can you please close and then re-open Vivado 2017.3 and then try to Synthesis your design and see if you are still seeing the same licensing error this time or not? 

 

Regards,

Anatoli

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
2,319 Views
Registered: ‎12-18-2014

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hi @anatoli

already tried several times! License still not found!

 

Thank you for your effort

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
2,315 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hi again @sevenclock,

 

Then this means that Vivado can't find the location where the license is located in.

In VLM, go to Manage Licenses Search Paths, and set XILINXD_LICENSE_FILE to point to a folder where you've copied your license file. 

Then, close your current Vivado 2017.3 tool (please note that Vivado session needs to be closed and re-open in order for the new license to get detected by the tool) and then see if you still seeing the same licensing error or not.

 

Regards,

Anatoli

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
2,308 Views
Registered: ‎12-18-2014

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hi @anatoli

still no success!

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
2,304 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hi @sevenclock,

 

Then please share with me a copy of your licence file and Xinfo report generated on the machine where you see this licensing issue.

I would need a full Xinfo report for examination, so if you can't share this directly in this Forum thread, then please forward these to me directly via the private message. I would need to examine these files,to be able to see what is causing this issue.

 

 

Regards,

Anatoli

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
2,295 Views
Registered: ‎12-18-2014

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Hi @anatoli

how to send .txt/.lic files via private message?

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
3,736 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Valid license not found

Jump to solution

Just to post the finding to this problem, in case someone else will encounter the same issue.

 

If your flexnet dongle is an older HASP4 dongle and not a newer HASP HL dongle, then Vivado 2017.3 won't be able to detect this dongle and to check out the license file. Please note that the HASP4 dongle should work fine with any previous versions of Vivado upto and including Vivado 2017.2, but not with Vivado 2017.3 and the newer releases.

The recommendation here is to replace HASP4 dongles with newer HASP HL dongles.

To verify if your dongle is a HASP4 dongle or a newer HASP HL dongle, please open your Device Manager -> USB Controller, and in here check and see if you have e.g. "Sentinel HASP Key", "Sentinel HL Key" and "Sentinel USB Key". If that is the case, then your dongle is a HASP HL dongle, however if in your case "Sentinel HL Key" is missing, that is an indication that you are most likely using an older version of a dongle, which is a HASP4 dongle and it won't work with Vivado 2017.3.

 

Therefore, in case  you are using a HASP4 dongle, and if you are working with Vivado 2017.3, then the option you have in this situation is either order a new HASP HL dongle so that you can use this with the newer tools, or just re-generate your license to target your NIC ID (Network Interface Card ID) or a DISK_SERIAL_NUM instead of your dongle’s ID.

 

Hope this helps.

 

Regards,

Anatoli

 

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------