cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
accuvein
Visitor
Visitor
8,131 Views
Registered: ‎10-28-2013

Vivado 2013.3 can't find license

Have a floating license server that seems to be properly configured. It seems to work fine for ISE and Xilinx License Manager, but when I use Vivado 2013.3 it doesn't seem to be getting licenses. Xilinx License Manager shows that the licenses are there, but when i run Vivado i get the following error:

 

[Common 17-345] A valid license was not found for feature 'Synthesis' and/or device 'xc7z020'. Please run the Xilinx License Configuration Manager for assistance in determining which features and devices are licensed for your system.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
vsrunga
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
8,120 Views
Registered: ‎07-11-2011

Hi,

 

Is your license full/webpack ?

Can you run xinfochecker and share xinfo.txt so that one of us will go through it and will suggest you accordingly ?

 

 

 

Regards,

Vanitha.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please do google search before posting, you may find relavant information.
Mark the post - "Accept as solution" and give kudos if information provided is helpful and reply oriented
0 Kudos
vemulad
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
8,117 Views
Registered: ‎09-20-2012

Hi,

Can you run the below command in ise command prompt and paste the log

lmutil lmdiag -c port_num@server_name synthesis

Thanks,
Deepika.
Thanks,
Deepika.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Google your question before posting. If someone's post answers your question, mark the post as answer with "Accept as solution". If you see a particularly good and informative post, consider giving it Kudos (the star on the left)
0 Kudos
vapostolov
Participant
Participant
8,047 Views
Registered: ‎08-06-2013

I have the same issue. I see a valid synthesis license in the “Xilinx License Configuration Manager”

SynthesisLicense2.JPG

 

but when I run:

 

lmutil lmdiag -c 2100@rti-app01 synthesis
WARNING: [Common 17-259] Unknown Tcl command 'lmutil lmdiag -c 2100@rti-app01 synthesis' sending command to the OS shell for execution.
lmutil - Copyright (c) 1989-2006 Macrovision Europe Ltd. and/or Macrovision Corporation. All Rights Reserved.
FLEXlm diagnostics on Mon 12/2/2013 11:35

-----------------------------------------------------
License file: 2100@rti-app01
-----------------------------------------------------
No licenses for synthesis in this license file

 

I get no synthesis license.

What could be the problem?

Regards,
Vlad

0 Kudos
vapostolov
Participant
Participant
8,044 Views
Registered: ‎08-06-2013

It looks like lmutil is case sensitive. I changed "synthesis" to "Synthesis" and I got:

 

lmutil lmdiag -c 2100@rti-app01 Synthesis
WARNING: [Common 17-259] Unknown Tcl command 'lmutil lmdiag -c 2100@rti-app01 Synthesis' sending command to the OS shell for execution.
lmutil - Copyright (c) 1989-2006 Macrovision Europe Ltd. and/or Macrovision Corporation. All Rights Reserved.
FLEXlm diagnostics on Mon 12/2/2013 13:48

-----------------------------------------------------
License file: 2100@rti-app01
-----------------------------------------------------
"Synthesis" v2013.07, vendor: xilinxd
  License server: rti-app01
  floating license no expiration date

  TS_OK: Checkout permitted when client is using terminal client

This license can be checked out
-----------------------------------------------------

 Now the question is why Vivado 2013.3 fails to find the license:

SynthesisLicense3.JPG

0 Kudos
vemulad
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
8,035 Views
Registered: ‎09-20-2012

Hi,

 

The version limit of your license is 2013.07. This license doesnot support vivado 2013.3 (which was released on Oct 2013 i.e., 2013.10). Hence the tool errors when you use vivado 2013.3.

 

Thanks,

Deepika.

Thanks,
Deepika.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Google your question before posting. If someone's post answers your question, mark the post as answer with "Accept as solution". If you see a particularly good and informative post, consider giving it Kudos (the star on the left)
0 Kudos
vuppala
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
8,033 Views
Registered: ‎04-16-2012

Hi,

 

From the output of lmutil lmdiag command, I can say that you are encountering this issue because of version limit.

You had license with version limit 2013.07 but whereas Vivado 2013.3 require 2013.10 as version limit.

 

For more information on version limit, see this answer record: http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/33770.htm

 

Thanks

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Have you tried typing your question in Google? If not you should before posting. Also, MARK this is as an answer in case it helped resolve your query/issue.Give kudos to the post that helped you to find the solution.
0 Kudos
vapostolov
Participant
Participant
8,024 Views
Registered: ‎08-06-2013

Thank you.

0 Kudos