UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor parampampam
Visitor
13,085 Views
Registered: ‎11-26-2014

Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

Hello, 

 

I have installed Vivado 2014.4 and it doesn't start. I get the following error when I try to run it:

 

Error when launching 'E:\Xilinx\Vivado\2014.4\bin\vivado.bat': Launcher time out

 

I tried to run vivado.bat via console and got this error: 

 

application-specific initialization failed: couldn't load library "librdi_commontasks.dll": this library or a dependent library could not be found in library path

 

Then I tried to open librdi_commontasks.dll in Dependency Walker and it showed me lack of the following DLLs:

 

API-MS-WIN-APPMODEL-RUNTIME-L1-1-0.DLL

API-MS-WIN-CORE-WINRT-ERROR-L1-1-0.DLL

API-MS-WIN-CORE-WINRT-L1-1-0.DLL

API-MS-WIN-CORE-WINRT-ROBUFFER-L1-1-0.DLL

API-MS-WIN-CORE-WINRT-STRING-L1-1-0.DLL

API-MS-WIN-SHCORE-SCALING-L1-1-1.DLL

DCOMP.DLL

IESHIMS.DLL

JVM.DLL

 

I have tried to install previous versions of Vivado and got the same error. ISE works fine, but PlanAhead crashes with the same error. I also have tried to install Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable Package from tps folder of Vivado. This hasn't helped me.

 

Please help me to solve this problem. Thanks in advance.

 

Regards.

 

Скриншот 2014-11-26 11.46.14.png
Скриншот 2014-11-26 12.00.14.png
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Visitor parampampam
Visitor
18,738 Views
Registered: ‎11-26-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

Hi, everyone

 

I've finally solved this problem!

 

I opened properties of vivado.exe and cmd.exe in ProcessExplorer (look at the screenshots) and noticed useful information. As you can see, cmd.exe had right PATH value, but vivado.exe didn't have. I tried to google string "nvInitDll redirect success" and found this http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4504074/nvinitdll-redirect-success-malforming-path Then I just removed registry key AppInit_DLLs from HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows using regedit utility. Now Vivado works fine!

 

Thanks for your answers, guys.

Regards

Скриншот 2014-11-30 18.05.30.png
Скриншот 2014-11-30 18.15.23.png
23 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
13,080 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

Can you run the below command and share the output?

 

report_environment -file <directory>/xinfo.txt

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
13,072 Views
Registered: ‎10-24-2013

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution
Hi,
Kill Vivado.exe in Windows taks manager->Processes tab and try reopening Vivado.
Thanks,Vijay
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
Visitor parampampam
Visitor
13,061 Views
Registered: ‎11-26-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

report_environment command can't be found in windows shell.

0 Kudos
Visitor parampampam
Visitor
13,059 Views
Registered: ‎11-26-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution
I tried, but it didn't help.
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
13,056 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

Open the Vivado TCL shell and run the command.

 

Start Menu ->All programs -> XIlinx Design tools -> Vivado 2014.4 -> Vivado 2014.4 Tcl shell

 

Now run the command.Capture.PNG

0 Kudos
Visitor parampampam
Visitor
13,047 Views
Registered: ‎11-26-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

I can't do this because Vivado TCL Shell has the same error with DLL. Please, look at my screenshot.

Скриншот 2014-11-26 12.49.19.png
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
13,035 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

  • Can you compare md5sum value of the downloaded Vivado 2014.4 installer zip file with the md5sum value provide in the downloads website?

You can use fastsum tool to get the md5sum value. The steps to get this are given below.

 

  1. Download the fastsum tool from the link,​ http:/​/​www.fastsum.com/

 

  1. Provide your downloaded Vivado installer ZIP file (2014.4 installer .tar file) to the tool to get the checksum value.This value should match with the one provided in the Xilinx website, http://www.xilinx.com/support/download.html

Capture.PNG

0 Kudos
Visitor parampampam
Visitor
13,019 Views
Registered: ‎11-26-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

I used webinstall for installation Vivado and I don't have installation archive. I'm going to download full archive, install Vivado again, check sum of archive and give you the results.

0 Kudos
Visitor parampampam
Visitor
12,995 Views
Registered: ‎11-26-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

I've checked the checksum of my archive. It matches to sum from xilinx.com. What can I do else to solve this problem?

Скриншот 2014-11-26 17.11.09.png
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
11,855 Views
Registered: ‎04-16-2012

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

Hello,

 

Did you try installing Vivado by extracting the downloaded .tar file?

 

Thanks,

Vinay

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Have you tried typing your question in Google? If not you should before posting. Also, MARK this is as an answer in case it helped resolve your query/issue.Give kudos to the post that helped you to find the solution.
0 Kudos
Visitor parampampam
Visitor
11,850 Views
Registered: ‎11-26-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

Yes, I unpacked .tar with WinRAR and then started installing.

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
11,840 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

Are you able to install the Vivado 2014.4 and start it now?

 

If the issue is resolved please close this thread by marking the post which helped you as Accepted Solution.

It will definitely help the other forum users.

0 Kudos
Visitor parampampam
Visitor
11,829 Views
Registered: ‎11-26-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

Hello, Manusha

 

I have reinstalled Vivado 2014.4 from the checked .tar archive. But I still have the error.

 

Regards.

Скриншот 2014-11-27 12.15.30.png
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
11,827 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

Can you check if the MYVIVADO environment variable is set on your machine?

If it is set can you unset it and check if it helps?

0 Kudos
Visitor parampampam
Visitor
11,818 Views
Registered: ‎11-26-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

I don't have this variable. You can see all my variables on the screenshot.

Скриншот 2014-11-27 12.31.43.png
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
11,810 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

I see a special character in username TEMP environment variable.

Can you please try renamning the username without any special characters in it?

Capture.PNG

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
11,808 Views
Registered: ‎04-16-2012

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

Hello,

 

Can you change your system language settings to english and check?

 

Thanks,

Vinay 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Have you tried typing your question in Google? If not you should before posting. Also, MARK this is as an answer in case it helped resolve your query/issue.Give kudos to the post that helped you to find the solution.
0 Kudos
Visitor parampampam
Visitor
11,805 Views
Registered: ‎11-26-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

I have changed it to "C:\Temp". But I still have the same error.

0 Kudos
Visitor parampampam
Visitor
11,779 Views
Registered: ‎11-26-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

Hello, Vinay

 

I changed my system language to English, but it didn't solve the problem.

 

Regards.

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
9,521 Views
Registered: ‎04-16-2012

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

Hello @parapampam

Do you have any other version of Xilinx Tools on the machine?
If yes, can you share xinfo.txt. To generate xinfo.txt, see this answer record: http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/55414.html

If you have ISE, generate xinfo using start --> All Programs --> Xilinx Design Tools --> ISE Design Suite 14.x --> Accesories --> Xinfo System Checker.

Thanks,
Vinay

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Have you tried typing your question in Google? If not you should before posting. Also, MARK this is as an answer in case it helped resolve your query/issue.Give kudos to the post that helped you to find the solution.
0 Kudos
Visitor parampampam
Visitor
9,508 Views
Registered: ‎11-26-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

Hi, Vinay

 

I've found xinfo.exe inside installation pack of ISE and run it. Please, look at my xinfo.txt file.

 

Regards.

0 Kudos
Visitor parampampam
Visitor
9,468 Views
Registered: ‎11-26-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

Hello, everyone.

 

I tried to copy librdi_commontasks.dll from E:\Xilinx\Vivado\2014.4\lib\win64.o\ to E:\Xilinx\Vivado\2014.4\bin\unwrapped\win64.o and got another error (look at the screenshot). I think Vivado can't find DLLs in E:\Xilinx\Vivado\2014.4\lib\win64.o\ for some reason. Do you have any suggestions how to make Vivado see these DLLs?

 

Regards.

Скриншот 2014-11-30 16.53.18.png
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor parampampam
Visitor
18,739 Views
Registered: ‎11-26-2014

Re: Vivado and ISE problem on Windows 7 x64

Jump to solution

Hi, everyone

 

I've finally solved this problem!

 

I opened properties of vivado.exe and cmd.exe in ProcessExplorer (look at the screenshots) and noticed useful information. As you can see, cmd.exe had right PATH value, but vivado.exe didn't have. I tried to google string "nvInitDll redirect success" and found this http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4504074/nvinitdll-redirect-success-malforming-path Then I just removed registry key AppInit_DLLs from HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows using regedit utility. Now Vivado works fine!

 

Thanks for your answers, guys.

Regards

Скриншот 2014-11-30 18.05.30.png
Скриншот 2014-11-30 18.15.23.png