cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
leith
Adventurer
Adventurer
11,349 Views
Registered: ‎11-28-2009

Vivado and KDE?

Jump to solution

Although I can find no reference to supported unix desktops, apparently Vivado is not supported on KDE4??

 

A Vivado install on my shiny new Centos7/KDE4 has been generating various exceptions and errors.  Most notably the license manager craps out with a java awt excpetion when I click the "obtain license" button.

 

Don't see much here in the forums with respect to KDE.  I'm a bit surprised I can't find mention of KDE non support??

 

Perhaps this post will help any punters attempting to follow in my footsteps.

 

Guess I'll try Gnome.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
leith
Adventurer
Adventurer
20,981 Views
Registered: ‎11-28-2009

For what its worth, things seem to work better with Gnome 3.14.0.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
austin
Scholar
Scholar
11,344 Views
Registered: ‎02-27-2008

ug973

 

Clearly lists the linux versions supported, page 14,

"

Linux Support
• Red Hat Enterprise Workstation 7.0 (64-bit)
• Red Hat Enterprise Workstation 6.5-6.6 (64-bit)
• Red Hat Enterprise Workstation 5.10 (64-bit)
• SUSE Linux Enterprise 11.3 and 12.0 (64-bit)
• Cent OS 6.6 and 7.0 (64-bit)
• Ubuntu Linux 14.04.2 LTS (64-bit)
• Vivado Lab Edition is the only Xilinx toolset that supports the Red Hat Enterprise
Workstation 6.5-6.6, 32-bit Operating Systems. Lab Edition also supports the 64-bit
systems.

"

Austin Lesea
Principal Engineer
Xilinx San Jose
0 Kudos
leith
Adventurer
Adventurer
11,340 Views
Registered: ‎11-28-2009

Yes, I see the operating systems supported.  The windowing system rides on top of the OS and the Vivado GUI rides on top of that.

 

I'm not reporting that Vivado doesn't work on Centos7.  I'm reporting it doesn't work well with KDE4 on Centos7.

0 Kudos
austin
Scholar
Scholar
11,337 Views
Registered: ‎02-27-2008

l,

 

Isn't that obsolete?

 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/KDE_Software_Compilation_4

 

I usually pay no attention to what version of KDE I am using ...

Austin Lesea
Principal Engineer
Xilinx San Jose
0 Kudos
leith
Adventurer
Adventurer
11,326 Views
Registered: ‎11-28-2009

I'm not a KDE expert.

 

When I installed KDE, I don't think I specified a version.  I assumed I got the latest production version.

 

Poking around the KDE sites a bit, KDE5 appears to be bleeding edge.

 

I'm running KDE SC 4.14.8 which was released August 2014.  Seems rather early to declare 4.14.8 obsolete.

0 Kudos
leith
Adventurer
Adventurer
20,982 Views
Registered: ‎11-28-2009

For what its worth, things seem to work better with Gnome 3.14.0.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
austin
Scholar
Scholar
11,314 Views
Registered: ‎02-27-2008

Thank you!

Austin Lesea
Principal Engineer
Xilinx San Jose
0 Kudos
akhomich
Contributor
Contributor
11,271 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2015

Hi,

 

I am using the Vivado with the CentOS7 and KDE4.

I have removed all Qt librarries which were installed by Vivado and I am using the ones from the OS.

 

 For ex.: the command

find /opt/Xilinx/Vivado -name "*Qt*"

Shows me that I have Qt libs in

/opt/Xilinx/Vivado/2015.4/lib/lnx64.o/

and

/opt/Xilinx/Vivado/2015.4/ids_lite/ISE/lib/lin64/

So, I have made the following:

 

cd /opt/Xilinx/Vivado/2015.4/lib/lnx64.o/
mkdir bk
mv libQt* bk

I have not touched the libs in the /opt/Xilinx/Vivado/2015.4/ids_lite/ISE/lib/lin64/.

You may want to do the same in the /opt/Xilinx/DocNav...

 

In addition, please check the post:

https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/Installation-and-Licensing/xlcm-segmentation-fault-on-centos-7/m-p/678579#M14155

 

Good luck,

  Andrei.

0 Kudos