UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,121 Views
Registered: ‎09-14-2018

Vivado floating license issue

Jump to solution

I have a single seat floating license for Vivado. It turns out that Vivado and License Manager do not see a valid license. The environment variable is set up. Per IT group the license file was properly located, and the process is running. Both IT and Avnet support guys do not know what is wrong. Could somebody help?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
879 Views
Registered: ‎09-14-2018

Re: Vivado floating license issue

Jump to solution

You are right. I have checked the installed programs. I had two Xilinx tools installed, WebPack and a full version, which was installed later. It turned out that Vivado icon on Desktop started the WebPack version.

Thank you,

Alex

11 Replies
Moderator
Moderator
1,094 Views
Registered: ‎03-16-2017

Re: Vivado floating license issue

Jump to solution

Hi @arotenst,

1. Provide license file to evaluate.

2. Run "report_environment -file <filepath>/env.txt" in tcl console and provide env.txt 

3. Provide lmgrd.log from the server. 

 

Regards,
hemangd

Don't forget to give kudos and mark it as accepted solution if your issue gets resolved.
0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,076 Views
Registered: ‎09-14-2018

Re: Vivado floating license issue

Jump to solution

Hello Hemang,

I have attached the license, laptop settings and the log file, provided by IT.
I did not understand about "report_environment  ...". Should I run it from Vivado TCL console?
I found two ENV.txt files under Xilinx folder. Both of them dated 2015. Which path should I use?

Thank you,
Alex

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
1,060 Views
Registered: ‎03-16-2017

Re: Vivado floating license issue

Jump to solution

Hi @arotenst,

 

You need to run "report_environment -file <filepath>/env.txt" in tcl console of Vivado gui. 

It will create a env.txt file in the path which you have applied in <filepath>.

Regards,
hemangd

Don't forget to give kudos and mark it as accepted solution if your issue gets resolved.
0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,048 Views
Registered: ‎09-14-2018

Re: Vivado floating license issue

Jump to solution

I have attached the env.txt file.

Thank you,

Alex

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
980 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Vivado floating license issue

Jump to solution

Hello @arotenst,

Can you please open a command prompt and CD to the location such as e.g.: C:/Xilinx/Vivado/2018.3/bin/unwrapped/win64.o
Then, from here, please run this command: lmutil lmstat –a –c <port_number>@<server_name> (in your case the command would be as followed: lmutil lmstat –a –c 2100@slm-sw-003 -i).
Then please see if lmgrd is UP and xilinxd is UP too and then, see what version of flexlm utilities the server is/was started with? Do you see v11.14 for both lmgrd and xilinxd? Can you confirm on this please? Thanks

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
975 Views
Registered: ‎09-14-2018

Re: Vivado floating license issue

Jump to solution

Hello Anatoli,

xilinxd is UP (v11.14.1), but I do not see anything on lmgrd. I have attchaed the log.

Thnak you,

Alex

 

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
964 Views
Registered: ‎09-14-2018

Re: Vivado floating license issue

Jump to solution

I checked the Processes (Task Manager). I do not see lmgrd running.

Alex

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
933 Views
Registered: ‎09-14-2018

Re: Vivado floating license issue

Jump to solution

Do I need lmgrd running as I have license server UP?

slm-sw-003: license server UP (MASTER) v11.14.1

Thank you,

Alex

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
903 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Vivado floating license issue

Jump to solution

Hello @arotenst,

Your server is up means lmgrd is running v11.14 and xilinxd is also up and it is also v11.14, so from the server point of view you are all good.

Checking your env.txt report I can also see the licenses can be seen OK on your machine.

image.png

What exact licensing error do you see in Vivado? Can you share a screenshot of this error please? Thanks

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
893 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Re: Vivado floating license issue

Jump to solution

Hello @arotenst,

Based on the internal notes that i've received from my colleagues, you have stated that the issue is that "Vivado does not offer the “paid” list of the FPGAs. " 

 …this is an indication that you have installed Vivado WebPACK (device limited) edition and that is the reason why you can’t select one of the bigger devices.

To solve this, you’d need to open Add Design Tools and Devices from the start menu and upgraded your Vivado WebPACK edition to either Vivado Design Edition or System Edition and that is it then.

Can you confirm on this please? Thanks

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
880 Views
Registered: ‎09-14-2018

Re: Vivado floating license issue

Jump to solution

You are right. I have checked the installed programs. I had two Xilinx tools installed, WebPack and a full version, which was installed later. It turned out that Vivado icon on Desktop started the WebPack version.

Thank you,

Alex