UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

Windows 8

Visitor

Re: Windows 8

It is not a matter of compelling features.  I write firmware for a living, I have a Windows 8 laptop, and I would like it to work on Windows 8.

So to say that "Nobody is using Windows 8 in any professional environment" is incorrect and short sighted.

A "professional" company such as Xilinx cannot simply say "in a professional environment you have to use Win 7".

Windows is one of the standards on the OS market...so, it is simply not very professional to say that. Even when there are many beta windows releases before the windows version launch to help third parties software to adapt to new windows versions.

Xilinx: it is certainly NOT PROFESSIONAL to say this and not to have software versions in time.

Unless you don't know how to adapt it (which seems it is the case, because the comment "limited support" is that it is not exactly know what you have in your hands...).

Explorer

jmedma wrote:

A "professional" company such as Xilinx cannot simply say "in a professional environment you have to use Win 7".

Windows is one of the standards on the OS market...so, it is simply not very professional to say that. Even when there are many beta windows releases before the windows version launch to help third parties software to adapt to new windows versions.

Xilinx: it is certainly NOT PROFESSIONAL to say this and not to have software versions in time.

Unless you don't know how to adapt it (which seems it is the case, because the comment "limited support" is that it is not exactly know what you have in your hands...).