cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sraza
Explorer
Explorer

debugging MIG based desing for DDR3 communication (using chipscope)

Jump to solution

Hello every one,

I am designing the DDR3 based system using virtex-6 FPGA and I am able to completely send all my data to DDR3. I know this thing coz I have checked signals (like app_wdf_data, app_addr, an other customized signals etc.) using chipscope which tells me that communication is fine...But since I cannot connect DDR3 external ports I was never sure if data actually went INTO ddr3, now that I check using read data path...All I get is garbage data...Even now I check app_rd_data, app_read_data_valid etc. signals. for read data path

suggest me how to connect the DQ signals to chipscope since they are external ports hence they cannot be connected. Also please suggest me where and how to start debugging from since it is my first time with this intense stuff.(of course I am also trying, but expert opnion will save effort and help me do things faster since my deadline is only 5 days from now)

Bests,

Jaffry

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sraza
Explorer
Explorer

I am not 100% sure if this is the right answer or not, but I have found atleast in my design that once in hardware when phy_init gets HIGH it means the caliberation is DONE. The same is written in the ug406 as well. Hence I am not considering the states of phy_rdlv and phy_wrlvl states now, atleast according to my understanding. 

Any experienced guy can add further for others to avail benefit

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
yenigal
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Hi Jaffry,

Did you tried the traffic patterns available in the example design and seeing the same issue in reads or this is only seen with your custom data input.

I suggest you to try the Traffic generator available with the example design which send and reads back the data from the DDR3.