UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

Reply

2X clock is needed !

Highlighted
Explorer
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎04-28-2013

2X clock is needed !

MIG1.4 can only give 4X and 1X clock definetly . But 2X clock will be needed in some case and MIG 1.4 sometimes can output 2X, sometimes can not!

 

I suggest 2X clock should be an option on Advanced Clocks option on next MIG.

nonsense
Scholar
Posts: 1,196
Registered: ‎03-22-2016

Re: 2X clock is needed !

@liubo_fpga It is kind of trivial to generate a 2X clock from a 4X clock.

Not even sure about convenience in this case...


* Henrique Bucher, Baremetal Labs, Extreme Financial Engineering: btlabs.us
Explorer
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎04-28-2013

Re: 2X clock is needed !

@hbucher,

It is not easy to synchronous CLK4X of phy inside to CLK2X which is generated outside of Phy.

Sometimes , I need to convert 1:2 structure to 1 : 4 structure.

It will be very convenient if MIG can output synchronous clk2X and clk1x together.

nonsense
Moderator
Posts: 235
Registered: ‎06-30-2010

Re: 2X clock is needed !

@liubo_fpga I would like to confirm a couple of thing. Firstly what device are you using and what IP.

 

The fact that you mention MIG v1.4 I am assuming its UltraScale and DDR3 is that correct?

 

I am not really sure what the problem you are posting about it, I see you have another post on the advanced options tab, is this related to that Tab?

 

When you mention 2:1 / 4:1 though it sound like you are asking about the PHY to controller clock frequency ratio (see attached)

 

However if you need a 2X clock for the rest of your design you can get this from the advanced options tab.

 

If the question is different to above please give a screen shot of what parameter you are asking about

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
mig1.png
Moderator
Posts: 235
Registered: ‎06-30-2010

Re: 2X clock is needed !

sorry just saw on your other post you have given the device details "I found this problem when I generated ddr3 phy only IP with vivado 2017.4 on part vu440." so the above still holds
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Explorer
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎04-28-2013

Re: 2X clock is needed !

Hi jheslip,

my part is  xcvu440-flga2892-1-c and my project MC is 2:1 structure (Bus 64,  memory x16)

I set Memory Device Interface Speed  2500ps , 400M

PHY to controller clock 4:1 ( It can't be changed), It's mean (Bus128, memory x16)

first i set reference input 10000, 100M,

I get M = 11, D = 1, D0 =11 on Advanced Clocking tab.

But I can't get a CLK2X clock from Additional Clock Outputs.

 

So I set reference input 5000, 200M,

I get M = 11, D= 2, D0 = 11 on Advanced Clocking tab.

I also can't get a CLK2X clock from Additional Clock Outputs.

 

I specify M and D,  M= 6, D= 2, D0 =6 on Advanced Clocking tab.

I can get a CLK2x clock from Additional Clock Outputs.

 

 

 

nonsense