UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer kmadhuri
Observer
415 Views
Registered: ‎09-18-2018

Ethernet interface

Hi,

We have developed kintex 7 FPGA based custom board .we want to implement ethernet interface (RGMII) in our custom board.so we used same logic as development board.Here i am sharing that interface part.we are down loading ehernet lite project,then the phy is not configuring.Same project is working on kc705 development board.So please suggest what steps have to fallow to configure phy chip.

ethernet_int.PNG
ethernet_int1.PNG
0 Kudos
14 Replies
Voyager
Voyager
359 Views
Registered: ‎02-01-2013

Re: Ethernet interface

 

R126 needs to be 5k (or 4.99k), not 4.7k. 

-Joe G.

 

0 Kudos
Voyager
Voyager
353 Views
Registered: ‎02-01-2013

Re: Ethernet interface

 

Wait... Ethernet Lite?

Ethernet Lite is only 10/100 Ethernet. It doesn't do 1000 Ethernet, so it doesn't have an RGMII port--it only has an MII port.

You need to implement a Tri-Mode Ethernet MAC if you want to talk to the PHY.  You can't use MII to talk to it.

-Joe G.

 

0 Kudos
Observer kmadhuri
Observer
333 Views
Registered: ‎09-18-2018

Re: Ethernet interface

Hi Joe G,

Development board ehternet interface can support MI/GMII/RGMII and SGMII .

According to development board we have taken interface upto RGMII.

Ethernet Lite is only 10/100 Ethernet. Same program tested in our custom board for upto 10/100.

 

Initially we want to verify hardware is ok or not thatsway we taken Ethernet Lite Project.

When configured our custom board  with this project we are unable to see  link LED's and tx/rx LED's also.

please send your valuable suggestions .

0 Kudos
Voyager
Voyager
309 Views
Registered: ‎02-01-2013

Re: Ethernet interface

 

 

This is from the Marvel PHY datasheet:

2019-01-30_7-41-08.jpg

I don't see MII as a supported interface.

Are you able to get Ethernet Lite working on the KC705?

I'm not sure the Ethernet Lite MAC can even access the clause 45 registers inside the PHY, to set it up properly.

Did you fix the resistor?

-Joe G.

 

 

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
301 Views
Registered: ‎12-04-2016

Re: Ethernet interface

Hi Joe

Yes we have ethernetlite working on KC705 which has marvel PHY on it.

If required, I could share the HDF with you

 

Best Regards

Shabbir

 

0 Kudos
Voyager
Voyager
289 Views
Registered: ‎02-01-2013

Re: Ethernet interface

@shabbirk

Ok... I went deeper into the PHY spec and see that it does support MII.

Thanks.

-Joe G.

 

0 Kudos
Voyager
Voyager
286 Views
Registered: ‎02-01-2013

Re: Ethernet interface

 

Sorry; your "RGMII" reference sent me off into the weeds.  You're running in plain-ol' MII mode.

Where did you put the MDI termination resistors?  I don't think that particular Marvell PHY has integrated terminations. That's why they included them on the KC705:

2019-01-30_12-15-31.jpg

Also, you don't show the RJ connector.  It's possible there was a mix-up there, too.

-Joe G.

 

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
276 Views
Registered: ‎12-04-2016

Re: Ethernet interface

Hi Joe

Yes the design is based out of MII. Ethernetlite core doesnt supports RGMII.

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/ip_documentation/axi_ethernetlite/v3_0/pg135-axi-ethernetlite.pdf

 

Is it possible to have AXI ethernet core in your design where this core supports to use RGMII?

 

Best Regards

Shabbir

 

 

0 Kudos
Observer kmadhuri
Observer
149 Views
Registered: ‎09-18-2018

Re: Ethernet interface

Hi Joe G,

R126 needs to be 5k (or 4.99k), not 4.7k.

we replaced 4.7k to 5.1k resistor.But no improvement .

we have verified regarding termination resistors.this IC does not have the internal impedance so we have removed T5 part number from our board and replaced with termination resistorrs with ( HFJ11-2450E-L12RL) RJ45 connector.this connector support MII interface means 10/100 Mbps data link.The detailed diagram attached.we configured ethernet lite program but no improvement in performance and LED's also.we are unable to see single LED status also.Actually from chip active low should drive to LED's but that pins are always active high status.

0 Kudos
Observer kmadhuri
Observer
148 Views
Registered: ‎09-18-2018

Re: Ethernet interface

Hi Joe G,

R126 needs to be 5k (or 4.99k), not 4.7k. 

we replaced 4.7k to 5.1k resistor.But no improvement .

we have verified regarding termination resistors.this IC does not have the internal  impedance so we have removed T5 part number from our board and replaced with termination resistorrs with ( HFJ11-2450E-L12RL) RJ45 connector.this connector support MII interface means 10/100 Mbps data link.The detailed diagram attached.we configured ethernet lite program but no improvement in performance and LED's also.we are unable to see single LED status also.Actually from chip active low should drive to LED's but that pins are always active high status.

 

ethernet_int2.PNG
0 Kudos
Observer kmadhuri
Observer
77 Views
Registered: ‎09-18-2018

Re: Ethernet interface

Hi,

we observed one small setting in our custom board compare to kintex 7 development board.please see the attachments.

Auto negotiated link speed 1000 -----------------   custom board.

Auto negotiated link speed 100 ------------------- Development board.

Please suggest how this is happening.we are fallowing same setting of development board.

Coming to tx and rs clk from phy is

tx_clk --125 mHz  and Rx_clk -- 2.5Mhz in our custom board

tx_clk --25 mHz  and Rx_clk -- 25Mhz in development  board  for same project of ethernet lite from sdk.

 

 

kc705_board.PNG
custom_board.PNG
0 Kudos
Voyager
Voyager
62 Views
Registered: ‎02-01-2013

Re: Ethernet interface

 

Why are you allowing autonegotiation to happen on your custom board?

-Joe G.

 

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
57 Views
Registered: ‎12-04-2016

Re: Ethernet interface

Hi @kmadhuri

Try changing the value of phy_link_speed parameter in BSP settings from CONFIG_LINKSPEED_AUTODETECT value to CONFIG_LINKSPEED100

 

Best Regards

Shabbir

0 Kudos
Observer kmadhuri
Observer
30 Views
Registered: ‎09-18-2018

Re: Ethernet interface

Hi Shabbir,

we changed phy_link_speed parameter in BSP settings from CONFIG_LINKSPEED_AUTODETECT value to CONFIG_LINKSPEED100.

But no improvement in generation in tx_clock and  rx_clock speed.

we are unble to see LED's status.These LED's are always stuck up to active HIGH.

Please see the screen images and suggest the modifications.

 

 

 

link_speed.PNG
bsp_settings.PNG
chiscope.PNG
0 Kudos