UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adventurer
Adventurer
605 Views
Registered: ‎09-25-2013

How to switch between 100M and 1G in Tri mode ethernet mac

Hi,everyone

I explain my understanding firstly.

The PHY chip can switch to 100M or 1G correctly after Auto-Negotiation.

Then we can read the PHY status through MDIO&MDC interface to learn which link speed is in Physical Layer.

Next,based on the PHY link speed status,we can config Tri mode ethernet mac speed by value [31:30] in MAC Speed Configuration Word (0x410).

Is my understanding correct for switching between 100M and 1G in Tri mode ethernet mac?

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Scholar dpaul24
Scholar
597 Views
Registered: ‎08-07-2014

Re: How to switch between 100M and 1G in Tri mode ethernet mac

@topxuxiang8,

 

Is my understanding correct for switching between 100M and 1G in Tri mode ethernet mac?

Yes.

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
FPGA enthusiast!
All PMs will be ignored
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
596 Views
Registered: ‎09-14-2017

Re: How to switch between 100M and 1G in Tri mode ethernet mac

Hi,

 

Yes that is the documented way to do the speed change, see PG051 page 254 "Configuring the Ethernet MAC to the Correct Speed"

 

--Kim

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
561 Views
Registered: ‎09-25-2013

Re: How to switch between 100M and 1G in Tri mode ethernet mac

Thanks a lot for your reply

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
560 Views
Registered: ‎09-25-2013

Re: How to switch between 100M and 1G in Tri mode ethernet mac

thank you
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
471 Views
Registered: ‎08-25-2009

Re: How to switch between 100M and 1G in Tri mode ethernet mac

Hi @topxuxiang8,

 

If your question has been answered, could you please mark the relevant post as "Accepted Solution"? So it will benefit other forum users.

 

Thank you! 

"Don't forget to reply, kudo and accept as solution."
0 Kudos