cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Why are there two applications in zynqmp_amp_demo repository? Please explain or send me a PM.

Jump to solution

I am a newbie to OpenAMP, Libmetal, and IPI.  I am trying to find out information about two libmetal/OpenAMP applications written by Xilinx that have very similar names: One application runs normally, the other one errors out with "device platform:ff310000.ipi not found."  Those files are taken from:

https://github.com/OpenAMP/libmetal/tree/master/examples/system/linux/zynqmp/zynqmp_amp_demo

Since my last forum post was flagged,I would hope someone might explain to me why my question regarding the difference between libmetal_amp_demod.c and libmetal_amp_demo.c files is inappropriate, or provide me with the contact information for an FAE who deals with OpenAMP so I can better be informed and post better questions. 

I have read through UG1186 (https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2019_1/ug1186-zynq-openamp-gsg.pdf)  and the Confluence page (https://xilinx-wiki.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/A/pages/118358017/OpenAMP+2019.1)  and still have a few questions.

I am not using Petalinux, but Buildroot, so I had to manually compile the applications in the libmetal examples folder and manually make the test .elf for the R5 and deploy to my test platform.  As a result, I can't completely replicate the steps listed in UG1186 or on the 2019.1 Confluence page, which may be causing some confusion. 

For example, with Petalinux, perhaps the only built Linux application is libmetal_amp_demo (not demod), while in my case I have both applications built and linked against -lmetal because I manually compiled them from the sources in Github.