cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
janaka
Visitor
Visitor
1,624 Views
Registered: ‎05-09-2018

AMS targeted reference design on VC 707 - How can I download the design and which version of Vivado to be used?

Jump to solution

Hello:

 

I am trying to use AMS targeted reference design using VC 707 evaluation board. I have Vivado 2016.4, Vivado 2017.3 and Vivado 2018.1. I tried to use Vivado 2016.4 as the user guide (UG960(v5.0)) dated November 22, 2013. 

* Can I use this example with this Vivado version?

I downloaded the xadc_eval_design_vc707_v1_4 and trying to follow UG 960. The steps are not clear with Vivado 2016. 

 

* How can I rebuild this design using Vivado 2016 (or later)? It asks to browse hardware/vivado/scripts and run xadc_eval_design_gui

Should this open Vivado ?

I am getting following error:

 

Vivado% source xadc_eval_design_gui.tcl
# source xadc_eval_design.tcl
## set design_top xadc_eval_design
## set device xc7vx485tffg1761-2
## set proj_dir runs
## set impl_const ../../sources/constraints/system.xdc
## create_project -name ${design_top} -force -dir "../${proj_dir}" -part ${dev
e}
ERROR: [Coretcl 2-99] Project xadc_eval_design is currently open. Please close
he project before executing this command

while executing
"source xadc_eval_design.tcl"
(file "xadc_eval_design_gui.tcl" line 3)

 

 

* I am also getting some warnings about missing parts when I open the AMS101_Evaluator GUI as shown in the attached file.

Has it been installed properly? I didnt have any errors during installation.

 

Could you please help me to finish this example?

Thanks

regards

Janaka

AMS101_EvaluatorMissing files.png
0 Kudos
Reply
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
klumsde
Moderator
Moderator
2,018 Views
Registered: ‎04-18-2011
is there any issue with write permissions to directories associated with the install?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Reply
8 Replies
klumsde
Moderator
Moderator
1,578 Views
Registered: ‎04-18-2011

I've installed this GUI before and not seen any issues. 

It comes as an executable so all these dependencies should be included. 

I can try re-install it here myself. 

 

Do you have labview installed on the machine as well? 

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
janaka
Visitor
Visitor
1,568 Views
Registered: ‎05-09-2018

Hi 

No I don't have Labview on my machine.

I just followed the user guide instructions and installation seemed to be OK but when I open the tool, I get this.

Thanks

Janaka

0 Kudos
Reply
klumsde
Moderator
Moderator
2,019 Views
Registered: ‎04-18-2011
is there any issue with write permissions to directories associated with the install?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Reply
janaka
Visitor
Visitor
1,554 Views
Registered: ‎05-09-2018

I opened the setup file as administrator. So I don't think it was an issue. Should I remove it and re-install ?

0 Kudos
Reply
klumsde
Moderator
Moderator
1,542 Views
Registered: ‎04-18-2011
Maybe remove and reinstall as a last resort. You definitely downloaded this from xilinx.com and not anywhere else? I'll try it on my end. I use windows 7
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
janaka
Visitor
Visitor
1,475 Views
Registered: ‎05-09-2018
I installed it from the link given in the AMS 101 reference design user guide. I removed the installation and reinstalled as the administrator but when I open "AMS 101 Evaluation GUI" it gives the same missing errors. I have a 64-bit machine. does it matter? Does this give any problem for running the reference design? I have not run it yet.
Thankls
Janaka

0 Kudos
Reply
janaka
Visitor
Visitor
1,376 Views
Registered: ‎05-09-2018
Hi klumsde:

Have you found any reason for this? Greatly appreciate any suggestions as |I am stuck at this place.
Many Thanks
Janaka
0 Kudos
Reply
klumsde
Moderator
Moderator
1,302 Views
Registered: ‎04-18-2011
Hi
Tried reinstalling it and it works fine on my side.

Have you checked the NI forums and articles on this?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply