Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Artix 7 - Output current Limitation per Bank

Jump to solution

Hello,

Let me start by saying that I am new to Xilinx FPGA's. I just had a new design using Artix-7 XC7A15T-FTG. I discovered very strange behavior where 2 logic outputs assigned to motor driver chips were stuck at 1.1V and 1.6V respectively. I reworked the board and reassigned 2 other pins from another bank in the FPGA then the problem was solved. The problem is on at least 2 prototypes so far. I checked for continuity and shorts and the previous assigned pins were fine. Also it is highly unlikely to be caused by the PCB fab since 2 boards have the same symptom. 

The only explanation I can come out with is that I may have exceeded the output current capability of that FPGA bank. It is Bank 15 where I have set the outputs to LVCMOS33 with 35 outputs and 13 inputs assigned including a global MMCM clock.

I read in a small print in one of the app notes about 200mA limitation per bank........ I would appreciate if I can get more detailed information about the current limitation per bank and whether my assumption is correct......

Regards,

Zee

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Observer
Observer