cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
5,573 Views
Registered: ‎02-20-2015

Aurora 64B/66B IP Clocking Issue

I'm trying to instantiate an Aurora 64B/66B IP block in vivado and I'm running into the following error when I try to validate my design:

 

[xilinx.com:ip:aurora_64b66b:9.3 5910] /aurora_64b66b_0 ERROR : gt_qpllclk_quad1_in of /aurora_64b66b_0 (Aurora IP) is configured for 0.00 Hz and input frequency is 200000000 Hz. Reconfigure Aurora IP with correct line rate to reflect gt_qpllclk_quad1_in frequency

 

The Aurora block is configured for: 

- Single lane

- Line rate of 6 Gbps

- GT refclk of 120 MHz

- Init clock of 200 MHz

- GT DRP of 100 MHz

- No user K or CRC

- Using the 'Include Shared Logic in Example Design' option

 

The product guide (PG074) indicates that this clock is "generated by GTXE2_COMMON / GTHE2_COMMON / GTHE3_COMMON", but I'm not sure where those are generated or how to get access to them.

 

Does anyone know how I should connect the gt_qpllclk_quad1_in port? I'm trying to deploy this to a VC707 board, if that makes a difference.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
5,519 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2010

Re: Aurora 64B/66B IP Clocking Issue

gt_qpllclk_quad1_in port has come in the IP interface because you have chosen 'Include Shared Logic in Example Design' option.

For this option, you will need to connect gt_qpllclk_quad1_in port from QPLL.

I think you may not have connected any signal to this port.
Two options for you.
1. Update the Shared logic option as "Shared logic in core". This port is consumed inside the core and it will come out as a output to be connected to other cores with "Shared logic in example" option.
2. Make it either external and ensure the input frequency matches with the required value.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
5,518 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2010

Re: Aurora 64B/66B IP Clocking Issue

I recommend to review the "Shared logic" section of the product guide for more understanding about shared logic option.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Newbie
Newbie
2,063 Views
Registered: ‎08-05-2016

Re: Aurora 64B/66B IP Clocking Issue

Hi guys,

 

I met the same problem. I only changed the line rate of Aurora IP to 6.144G from 9.8304G in the IP's GUI. And the error appeared.

Who can tell me why? I looked over the pg074.pdf but got nothing helpful.

 

 

Best Regards,

Xin

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
1,948 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2010

Re: Aurora 64B/66B IP Clocking Issue

Which version of the IP are you using?

Can you check by selecting "Shared logic in core" option?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos