UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Newbie puurjitdasa

Basys3 - Creating a 10 seconds period clock

Hello,

I am new to FPGA and bought a basys 3 board to learn. I want to create a clock that has a 10 seconds period. The reason I want such a low frequency is because I am making a d flip flop and want to be able to see if my code works.

I tried using the basys 3 xdc constraint files and editing it:

set_property PACKAGE_PIN W5 [get_ports clk]
set_property IOSTANDARD LVCMOS33 [get_ports clk]
create_clock -add -name sys_clk_pin -period 5e+9 -waveform {0 2.5e+9} [get_ports clk]

However when I try generating the bitstream, it throws an error. The log has many errors, the first of which is:

WARNING: [Vivado 12-584] No ports matched 'clk'

On the other hand, when I replace mentions of sys_clk_pin in my VHDL design source code with 'clk', it works but I suspect it is running at the default clk frequency.

How do I solve this error?

Thank you.

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Mentor jmcclusk
Mentor

Re: Basys3 - Creating a 10 seconds period clock

What you are asking is actually somewhat difficult, because a 10 second clock is far slower than is normally used.  It can be done, however.  There is already a 100 MHz oscillator on pin W5.  i.e. 

The Basys3 board includes a single 100MHz oscillator connected to pin W5 (W5 is a MRCC input on bank 34). The input clock can drive MMCMs or PLLs to generate clocks of various frequencies and with known phase relationships that may be needed throughout a design.