UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adventurer
Adventurer
796 Views
Registered: ‎08-12-2013

Can I use GTX for 250Mbps line rate?

Jump to solution

Hello,

We have a project whose architecture is one core board and N terminal boards. There are several serial data lines between the core board and terminal boards with a line rate 250Mbps.

The current design bases on Lattice's solution. We want to choose a Kintex-7 deviece to update the core board. But I know the lowest line rate of GTX is 500Mbps. Is there any method to support 250 Mbps line rate?

Thanks a lot.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
997 Views
Registered: ‎08-07-2007

回复: Can I use GTX for 250Mbps line rate?

Jump to solution

hi @adrian7

 

we can do oversampling to support lower line rate.

 

please refer to the example here.

 

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp1240-k7-us-clk-data-recovery.pdf

 

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp1249-smpte-sdi-interfaces-7series-gtx-transceivers.pdf

 

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp875.pdf

 

Thanks,

Boris

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Moderator
Moderator
778 Views
Registered: ‎05-02-2017

Re: Can I use GTX for 250Mbps line rate?

Jump to solution

 

Hi @adrian7,

 

I believe your looking  for work around for GTX to work  at 250 Mbps which has specification in datasheets saying 500Mbps is supported lowest line rate,

 

unfortunately  there is no work around  since the GT wizard does allow us to configure GTX as show in below figure , this is because as per  specification and transceivers are design to support the line rate above 500Mbps on-wards , hence you cannot use the GTX for lesser line rate of 500Mbps .

 

 

 

 

Chandra

Regards
Chandra sekhar
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if solution provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
form.png
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
998 Views
Registered: ‎08-07-2007

回复: Can I use GTX for 250Mbps line rate?

Jump to solution

hi @adrian7

 

we can do oversampling to support lower line rate.

 

please refer to the example here.

 

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp1240-k7-us-clk-data-recovery.pdf

 

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp1249-smpte-sdi-interfaces-7series-gtx-transceivers.pdf

 

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp875.pdf

 

Thanks,

Boris

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
765 Views
Registered: ‎08-12-2013

回复: Can I use GTX for 250Mbps line rate?

Jump to solution

Thank you, Boris.

Oversampling may be a good solution. We will try it.

Do you believe our Kintex-7 will be compatible with Lattice ECP3 at 250Mbps SerDes?

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
744 Views
Registered: ‎08-07-2007

回复: Can I use GTX for 250Mbps line rate?

Jump to solution

yes, i believe K7 can be compatible.

you can refer to our datasheet and theirs to check the compatibility.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos