cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
686 Views
Registered: ‎11-20-2018

Data transfer between one FPGA<->multiple FPGA

Jump to solution

Hi.  I am always receiving help from this forum and i am grateful to everyone.

Now i want to get advice once more.

 

I have 20~30 custom FPGA board which make continuous data, and i want to collect this data from multiple FPGA.

I want to collect data from multi FPGA and controll&process  by PS in zynq (i have zc706 board).

But i don;t know which communication method is proper to transfer data between one FPGA <-> multiple FPGA.

I found aurora but there are only 16 tranceiver in zc706..so.. 

if necessary, i will make custom zynq board. 

 

Please help me! thanks.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
582 Views
Registered: ‎07-14-2014

Hi,

In the absence of any information about data rates etc, PCIe just seemed to make the most sense to me at the time. PCIe can be x1, x2, x4 lanes etc so can be expanded to meet your bandwidth needs and allows the addition of switches etc to partition up your design. Like I said, I'm no expert on it (having never implented a complete design), but I've done some preliminary work for a design that got cancelled.

That and the fact that when i looked up the ZC706 development board I noticed the PCIe tab on it.

Hope that helps

Regards

Simon

View solution in original post

4 Replies
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
621 Views
Registered: ‎07-14-2014

Hi,

What you've just described there, sounds to me like a PCIe architecture (possibly with PCIe switches). I'm sure others more knowledgable than me will have some better ideas.

Regards

Simon

Highlighted
Advisor
Advisor
614 Views
Registered: ‎04-26-2015

What sort of data rates are you looking at? That will largely drive the decision on interfacing. For low speed data you can just put them all on an I2C bus; for somewhat higher speeds you can do SPI over the normal FPGA ports.

Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
595 Views
Registered: ‎11-20-2018

Thank you @simdav_dlp.

I'll find PCIe architecture!

Could you tell me why you thought PCIe was proper this case?

 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
583 Views
Registered: ‎07-14-2014

Hi,

In the absence of any information about data rates etc, PCIe just seemed to make the most sense to me at the time. PCIe can be x1, x2, x4 lanes etc so can be expanded to meet your bandwidth needs and allows the addition of switches etc to partition up your design. Like I said, I'm no expert on it (having never implented a complete design), but I've done some preliminary work for a design that got cancelled.

That and the fact that when i looked up the ZC706 development board I noticed the PCIe tab on it.

Hope that helps

Regards

Simon

View solution in original post