cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
prakashdrj
Observer
Observer
8,243 Views
Registered: ‎07-12-2016

IBERT 7 series issue

Doing IBERT for 5 GT/s, with Refclk 100 MHz and data width 40 bits. I am trying to perform 2D Eye Scan for 10^-12 BER, but some how I am not able to complete the whole scan. Either hw connection lost or Progress - Incomplete occurs.

 

When I tried for 10^-10, 10^-11 or 10^-12 it always shows hw connection lost or Progress - Incomplete.

 

When I tried for 10^-9 it completes the scan.

 

Is there any reason for incomplete progress of scan?

 

Regards,

Prakash

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
kkn
Moderator
Moderator
8,222 Views
Registered: ‎01-15-2008

can you try to reduce the cable speed and see if that helps

balkris
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
8,213 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

check this post for some suggestions on this issue
https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/Design-Tools-Others/Bug-in-Vivado-2014-1-IBERT-eye-scan-does-not-work/td-p/469038.

The reason could be cable , speed or target board hardware issue .
Thanks and Regards
Balkrishan
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
venkata
Moderator
Moderator
8,155 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2010

How does the JTAG connection exist on the hardware? Do you connect to the board through network? Doing eye scan with 10^-10, 10^-11 or 10^-12 takes fairly long time.

 

If you find any error message from IBERT during the failure, please provide the details.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
prakashdrj
Observer
Observer
8,081 Views
Registered: ‎07-12-2016

@venkata,

 

Sometimes progress shows incomplete or msg shown below,

 

Screenshot from 2016-08-29 17-51-34.png

 

Without disturbing the setup, in on going eye scan/sweep it shows this type of error.

 

Your help is appreciated a lot.

 

Regards,

Prakash

0 Kudos
balkris
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
8,067 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

the similar issue discussed in this post
https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/Design-Tools-Others/ERROR-Labtools-27-1829-vcse-server-failed-during-internal/td-p/351763
Thanks and Regards
Balkrishan
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
venkata
Moderator
Moderator
8,064 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2010

How do you connect to the hardware? Is it through network?

Can you check the Tcl console for any related messages when the error pops up?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
prakashdrj
Observer
Observer
8,057 Views
Registered: ‎07-12-2016

Hello @venkata,

 

We have connected Vivado and Zynq-ZC706 board via Cable connector J3.

 

0 Kudos
prakashdrj
Observer
Observer
8,051 Views
Registered: ‎07-12-2016

This type of message

"[Xicom 50-38] xicom: Core access failed. Check cable connectivity and that the target board is powered up then use the disconnect_hw_server and connect_hw_server to re-initialize the hardware target. Use open_hw_target to re-register the hardware device."

0 Kudos
venkata
Moderator
Moderator
8,040 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2010

Looks like you are using digilent cable. Can you try the same test using platform usb cable?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------