cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
chao_zhang
Visitor
Visitor

If cascading IDELAY2 in Kintex7 will work?

I have a path from flip-flop to the IOB that needs programmable delay about 10ns. But the IDELAY2 can only provide 32 increment of 78ps at most, which means about  2.5ns, much lower than wanted. I am thinking if I can cascade several IDELAY2 to increase the delay. something like :

IDELAY2                                 IDELAY2                           IDELAY2                          IDELAY2

[DATAIN -- DATAOUT] --> [DATAIN -- DATAOUT] --> [DATAIN -- DATAOUT] --> [DATAIN -- DATAOUT] ->IOB

I am new to xilinx FPGA, anyone knows if it is feasible ?

Thank you.

Tags (2)
7 Replies
vuppala
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Hello @chao_zhang

You can cascade IDELAYE2s as mentioned in your post.

But the net from DATAOUT of one IDELAYE2 to DATAIN of other IDELAYE2 is routed through fabric routing since there is no dedicated routing.

Thanks,

Vinay

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Have you tried typing your question in Google? If not you should before posting. Also, MARK this is as an answer in case it helped resolve your query/issue.Give kudos to the post that helped you to find the solution.
mohsin_ch
Adventurer
Adventurer

Sorry, what you mean by that? Fibre routing of FPGA. I am interested because i am also working on same ideas.

0 Kudos
pthakare

Hi @mohsin_ch

There is no dedicate connection from the Data_out of first  IDELAYE2  to the Data_In of  next  IDELAYE2 in the cascade chain.

I.e  DATA_out is drive to the FPGA fabric and then to the DATA_IN of second IDELAYE2.

Also make sure that you are setting DELAY_SRC attribute of the all other IDELAYE2 in the cascade chain to DATA_IN as their data_in is driven from FPGA fabric.