UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer ahmad.zaklouta
Observer

LVDS between two spartan-6 (SERDES)

Hi!

I'm new to FPGA so please any help will be appreciated.

I have a project to design a high speed communication (100 - 200 MHz) between two spartan 6 FPGA. There is only a LVDS data channel between them. the data is Ethernet frames. I have been reading several documentation and my idea is to use SERDES in both FPGAs. My questions are:

1- How to generate the clock in both FPGA?

2- How the receiver will know that the transmitter want to transmit if there is no control signal?

3- I read all the discussions about Bitslip in the forum but could not understand it that much. Do I need to use bitslip?

4- is there any other way to achieve 100 - 200 MHz communication between two FPGA?

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Scholar drjohnsmith
Scholar

Re: LVDS between two spartan-6 (SERDES)

short answer:

1) You can't

2) You coding

3) possibly

4) Yes

====================================

:Long answer.

Ok, lots of big open questions,

e.g. Bit slip is a way of synchronising data,  its not a need , but a way.

I'd concentrate on big questions first, 

First question, how to get data between the two fpgas ?

have a search  on that, you will find lots of solutions.

let us know what you find 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
Observer ahmad.zaklouta
Observer

Hi @drjohnsmith!

Thanks for your response.

Most of the application note that address SERDES are for source synchronous system. For now, I checked xapp224 and xapp225.