UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
582 Views
Registered: ‎06-12-2019

Program Flash spartan 7

Jump to solution

Hi ,

     I am using spartan 7 with vivado19.1,In my design i am using microbalze + rtl.

Will you please share the complete step or process to program Spartan 7 FLASH for booting purpose.

Thanks and Regards

Ankit Rathore

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
430 Views
Registered: ‎06-12-2019

Re: Program Flash spartan 7

Jump to solution

Hi ,

     Thanks for response,below link will work for first time programing:-

https://www.instructables.com/id/Flashing-a-MicroBlaze-Program/

please correct me If i am wrong.

Thanks and Regards

Ankit Rathore

 

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
12 Replies
Scholar drjohnsmith
Scholar
568 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: Program Flash spartan 7

Jump to solution

Every thing you could want to know about configuration of the spartan 7.

 

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp1313-spartan-spi-config.pdf

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/user_guides/ug470_7Series_Config.pdf

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
564 Views
Registered: ‎06-12-2019

Re: Program Flash spartan 7

Jump to solution

Hi ,

There is any way to program Flash saratn 7 like the way we program in zynq(GUI method) without command?

Thanks

Ankit Rathore 

0 Kudos
Visitor sigifridus
Visitor
550 Views
Registered: ‎06-28-2018

Re: Program Flash spartan 7

Jump to solution

Hello!
I can tell you about programming flash in ARTY-S7 board. it include SPARTAN 7.

I did it in vivado 17.4 last time.

1. you need to create project in vivado and add DDR3 SDRAM,  USB UART, Quad SPI Flash ipcores.
2. next you generate bitstrieam and export it into SDK
3. then you create desired application

4. after that you need to create system debugger run configuration

Screenshot_7.png

5. then create new application SREC SPI Bootloader

Screenshot_8.png

6. find src folder and file blconfig.h change FLASH_IMAGE_BASEADDR 0x00C00000. save changes. 
7. open window Board Support Package Settings. find string serial_flash_family and set value 5
Screenshot_9.png

8. then programm fpga with your application file .elf
Screenshot_10.png

9. almost done programm flash. chose your application file .elf as boot image. write Offset 0x00C00000, Flash Type s25fl128sxxxxxx0-spi-x1_x2_x4, and chose Convert ELF to bootloadable SREC format and program, Blank check after erase, Verify after flash.
Screenshot_11.png

10. finally! programm flash and chose bitstream file .bit as a boot image. here offset 0x00000000 and same Flash Type s25fl128sxxxxxx0-spi-x1_x2_x4. chose Blank check after erase, Verify after flash
Screenshot_12.png

https://reference.digilentinc.com/learn/programmable-logic/tutorials/htsspisf/start

good luck!

0 Kudos
Scholar drjohnsmith
Scholar
535 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: Program Flash spartan 7

Jump to solution

@sigifridus 

Thats a great tutorial. The browser Im on,  does not allow us to Kudos .. 

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
492 Views
Registered: ‎06-12-2019

Re: Program Flash spartan 7

Jump to solution

hi ,

    We need AXI Quad spi IP for programing flash?

Thanks and Reagrds

Ankit Rathore

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor sigifridus
Visitor
485 Views
Registered: ‎06-28-2018

Re: Program Flash spartan 7

Jump to solution

Yes, ofcourse you need AXI Quad SPI IP. For example:
Screenshot_1.png

0 Kudos
470 Views
Registered: ‎06-12-2019

Re: Program Flash spartan 7

Jump to solution

Hi, 

    I am using xc7s25csga324-1.When i am using AXI Quard SPI IP don't have  clock pin.

Also (C8) is not avilable for MAP in vivado.

Thanks and Regards

Ankit Rathore

0 Kudos
Visitor sigifridus
Visitor
455 Views
Registered: ‎06-28-2018

Re: Program Flash spartan 7

Jump to solution

Refer to ARTY-S7 there Xilinx Spartan-7 50 FPGA (xc7s50csga324-1) and it is pin compatible with your FPGA.

You can't use C8 because it is dedicated pin. You must connect your clocking net to valid clock sites of IO banks.

Please show your block design in vivado.

0 Kudos
440 Views
Registered: ‎06-12-2019

Re: Program Flash spartan 7

Jump to solution

Capture.PNGFPGA Connection in PCB

Hi ,

    I think we don't need QSPI IP because when i using using RTL file(without microblaze) .mcs generated and it will work fine.then why i need QSPI IP when i am using microblaze ?

Thanks and Regards

Ankit Rathore

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
433 Views
Registered: ‎01-15-2008

Re: Program Flash spartan 7

Jump to solution

Hi Ankit,

If you dont need to re-program the flash through FPGA after the fpga is configured then, yes you dont need QSPI IP.

QSPI IP is required to talk to flash after the spartan-7 is configured.

--Krishna

 

0 Kudos
431 Views
Registered: ‎06-12-2019

Re: Program Flash spartan 7

Jump to solution

Hi ,

     Thanks for response,below link will work for first time programing:-

https://www.instructables.com/id/Flashing-a-MicroBlaze-Program/

please correct me If i am wrong.

Thanks and Regards

Ankit Rathore

 

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
418 Views
Registered: ‎01-15-2008

Re: Program Flash spartan 7

Jump to solution

yes, the link you sent has the instructions for programming

you can also refer to vivado programming guide

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2018_3/ug908-vivado-programming-debugging.pdf

 

0 Kudos