Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Use mmap() to received finish signal from my FPGA GPIO with awful delay

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie of FPGA development

I'm using Redpitaya Stemlab 125-14 FPGA board(Zynq-7010)

I re-write a simple FPGA block design

This app received external trigger I gave and after 40000 triggers, "immediately" sending a finished signal to AXI GPIO IP & custom Bram Reader

and I used mmap() to receive the finished signal and start mmap the Bram data, and then enter the next loop.

But there is always a huge delay between my IP block send finished signal & my C program detects it.

The weirdest thing is that If I increase the frequency of external trigger, my C could detect more quickly even almost simultaneously!

my trigger is from SpinCore's PulseBlaster , so I can easily see when is the last trigger and finished timing and notice that there is a huge interval time

between finished timing & C received it.

That is how I discover the huge delay.

here is part of my C program, (*((uint32_t *)(cfg + 8))) is how I detect the finish signal from FPGA

dat = mmap(NULL, sysconf(_SC_PAGESIZE), PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_SHARED, fd, 0x40000000);
  cfg = mmap(NULL, sysconf(_SC_PAGESIZE), PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_SHARED, fd, 0x42000000);
while(l <= loop & measuring == 1)
      {
        time_begin = clock();
        if (measuring == 1 && (*((uint32_t *)(cfg + 8))) & 1 != 0) { /* here is the main delay I get !!! */

/* transfer all samples */
          nsmpl = (1<<nsamples);
          printf("nsmpl = %d \n",nsmpl);

for(j = 0; j < 1; ++j)
          {
            buffer[j] = (*((uint32_t *)(dat + 4*j)));
            printf("buffer = %d ,", buffer[j]);
          }

/* resend configs */
          *((int32_t *)(cfg + 0)) = (STOP) + (timing<<8) + (nsamples<<16) + (naverages<<24);
          *((int32_t *)(cfg + 0)) ^= 1;