cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Using LVDS to communicate with external systems

Jump to solution

Hi guys,

I am new to FPGA design. I have googled this topic but could not find any useful information.

I want to comunicate with external devices using LVDS in a multidrop topology (see pic bellow). 

LVDS-Multidrop.JPG

I have assigned my LVDS signals to one of the HR banks of the Artix XC7A35T and powered it with 2.5V. My communication speed is 50 Mbps. I will use a ribbon cable for off-board connections. I know it is not the best approach in terms of noise immunity and impedance matching, but this is the standard cable used in my application. The cable length can be 5 meters long.

My doubt is: given the cable lenght and communication speed, can I use only the FPGA LVDS channels or do I need to use an external driver, like DS92LV010A or SN65LVDS31? It would be great if the external drivers were not necessary, because I have a strict budget for the board. I know the environment noise would have to be evaluated, but I don't have this information. Is it commom to use the FPGA LVDS channels like this, or are they typically only used for communication inside the PCB?

I would really appreciate any help! Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher

Sounds fun,

Yes, fpga can drive out LVDS,

your probably going to use bus LVDS.

Ribbon cable .

ensure the LVDS pair are adjacent on ribbon, say pins 2 and 3, and have a ground adjacent , say pins 1 and 4.

Reason to consider using an external driver / receiver,

is sacrificial.  

5m of ribbon is going to be a great ESD pick up antenna.

depending upon the environment,  look at tranzorbs etc.

re 2v5 .

careful, LVDS is in theory agnostic, but LVDS was traditionaly 3v3

look out for the maximum voltage that the chips might produce,

I don't know if you can, 

but as your unidirectional, LVDS works great AC coupled,