UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor kakiayam
Visitor

Would I be able to self learn FPGA programming Zynq 7000 series?

Jump to solution

Dear all,
Would need some affirmation from any FPGA engineer out there. Would I be able to self learn FPGA programming? My background is mainly electronics, a jack of few trades but master of none kind. I could understand digital circuitry, did some programming on Perl for CGI scripts and C++. I used to program the good old 8051 microprocessor and Microchip PIC16F84 in assembly. But these are like 20 years ago. I am way behind in terms of technology.
I am thinking deeply to invest in buying the Zedboard as I observed most of the online tutorial are based on this development board. But it will cost this old engineer a bomb and I need to be sure that I am investing on the correct thing. I understand Zedboard is already in the market for many years, would it still be the right platform to learn on?
Would greatly appreciate any advise on this. In addition, what forum would best serves me in this learning process?
Thanks.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: Would I be able to self learn FPGA programming Zynq 7000 series?

Jump to solution

@kakiayam 

I too am an old dog who learned new tricks (FPGA programming) late in life. Like you, I also cut my teeth writing assembly language for the 8051 and various Microchip PICs. Here’s how I got started with FPGAs.